Baseboard

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
ollie

Baseboard

Post by ollie »

Hi folks this is my first posting. Complete beginner . Would appreciate the following answered

Size of baseboard to start with ,will be in my garage.
What material should baseboard be made of

Many thanks

Ollie

PS Will have lots more questions later
Bleepy_Evans

Re: Baseboard

Post by Bleepy_Evans »

Hi Ollie, im Ollie too!

Im a total beginner to check out the tuts on the web pages, they tell you what tools you need to scenery.

Heres a quote on base boards.
Baseboard Construction

A word of advice!!! Please wear masks when cutting wood and cleaning up saw dust. All wood, especially man made boards (e.g. MDF), are carcinogenic (cancer causing) to some extent. Some exotic hard woods are as carcinogenic as asbestos, but don't worry as these types of wood are rare.

The most basic baseboard construction uses a soft wood batten construction underneath a large fibre board. You first construct the soft wood batten structure and then fix it to the bottom of the board with screws. The battens give the board its rigidity which is very much needed when using some of the softer fibre boards.

There are many types of fibre boards that can and have been used to serve as the base for a model railway such as paper board, fibre board, MDF, ply board, and chip board. They all have different weights and strength properties but remember it is important to keep the weight down and that the board is easy to work with (cut etc). Below are two reviews for the boards I have used.