An 8'x4' Layout

Any questions about designing a model railway layout or problems with track work.
MiniNorthWestern

An 8'x4' Layout

Post by MiniNorthWestern »

Hello, I'm pretty new to creating my own layout. Which I'm creating on a sheet of 8'x4' plywood.
I don't suppose any of you more experienced folk can see anything immediately wrong with my plan below?
The area marked by 1070x700mm I was looking to cut out so all areas can be reached.

Mountain

Re: An 8'x4' Layout

Post by Mountain »

The bottom two tracks seem too close together. One single line here serving the platform will work better.
Also, I personally find it better to avoid using curved points as if one has a derailment, it is usuallyon a curved point as the longer frog area can cause problems. I don't say don't use them. I say is best not to if you have a choice.
End2end

Post by End2end »

My immediate thought...
What traffic do you expect at platform 2?
I've just had a quick measure up and in 400mm you can only fit 4 small wagons or a single coach.

Depending on how you plan to uncouple, in my own experiments uncoupling on a curve can be troublesome.
One of our more experienced members may have a solution for that though.
I'm a mere amateur. :lol:
Thanks
End2end
"St Blazey's" - The progress and predicaments.
Welcome‎
Planning
Building
St. Blazey's Works & Depot thread
End2end

Post by End2end »

Mountain wrote:One single line here serving the platform will work better.
If set track spacing were to be observed, bringing the inner line inwards, I think the twin line could work, but the platform would need to be narrower.
Thanks
End2end
Welcome‎
Planning
Building
End2end

Post by End2end »

A quick couple of questions if I may...
What gauge / scale are you going to run?
Will the 1070 x 700mm cut out be where you will control the layout from or will it be a lift out scenery section, usually covered?
Thanks
End2end
Welcome‎
Planning
Building
MiniNorthWestern