Curved Viaduct

Having a problem making your model railway layout look real. Post questions and share the results of your model railway scenery here.
Hilux5972

Curved Viaduct

Post by Hilux5972 »

Hi all. I am looking to recreat Glenfinnan viaduct in OO gauge, albeit with flexible track at a somewhat tighter curve than Glenfinnan actually is. Does anyone know of any kits or kit parts that I could use to scratch build it? I have searched but no one seems to do curve parts. Just straight kits. One side would be to the back of the curve so I would only really need to do the visible side.
dubbleojon

Re: Curved Viaduct

Post by dubbleojon »

I am going to be building a curved viaduct on my new layout, I have found a few dimensions on the internet and am planning on building it out of mount card or foam board and then covering with some embossed stone card or das clay and scribbing the stones on. I am completely new to scratch building however and am not at a stage to start yet so there may well be a better was of doing it and I look forward to seeing some of the other suggestions you get. If I remember correctly glenfinnan is made of concrete you wont need to bother with all the stones. :)
Bufferstop

Post by Bufferstop »

Don't decorate your model of Glenfinnan with artificial stone. The real thing is made of concrete and any markings on its surface are shuttering marks. The line was one of the first to use concrete on a mass scale and is responsible for the Scot Rail Cl37 which had different name-plates on either side. One said "Sir Robert McAlpine" the other said "Concrete Bobby"
John W
aka Bufferstop
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions
Bufferstop

Post by Bufferstop »

Here's my desktop just to show it.
desktop.jpg
desktop.jpg (94.8 KiB) Viewed 12707 times