Dapol LMS coach kits

Have any questions or tips and advice on how to build those bits that don't come ready made.
andrewk

Dapol LMS coach kits

Post by andrewk »

Firstly, I'm new to this so please bear with me and excuse the basic questions.
I've just ordered a few Dapol LMS coach kits (both 57' & 60').
1. What glue should I use?
2. Do the roofs require painting? If so then what is the correct colour and where do I find it?
3. Do the wheels require replacing? If so then with which wheel set?
skyblue

Re: Dapol LMS coach kits

Post by skyblue »

For these kits the glue I would use would be standard plastic cement, like Humbrol or Revell Cement (other brands of plastic cement are available :) ) Use this sparingly as it can cause a loss of detail if it gets onto mouldings like door handles. For the correct roof colour I would use Phoenix Precision Paints - here's a link to their LMS Roof Grey. I know that there are problems with having paints posted to you (I am sure that there must be a way round it though) so it might be best to buy these at a shop or exhibition. I believe that the coaches have plastic wheels (if my memory of a review of them is correct) so you might want to replace them with metal wheels,there's a link to the Alan Gibson website here - they have a catalogue and they probably do the correct type of wheels, but I'm not sure.
6C

Post by 6C »

You will need 14.1mm solid disk wheels for these coaches - Hornby do metal replacements in this size (pack/ref. r8218)
Pete

Fetch me a bottle of your finest Chateau Bichon Frise '65 !!
stuartp

Post by stuartp »

You don't need glue at all. The 'kits' are actually a CKD (Completely Knocked Down) version of their RTR coaches.