First Iteration. Attic space

Post your design ideas for any layout that you are planning to build in the future. Keep members up-to-date with your designs and future plans for your layout.
David53

First Iteration. Attic space

Post by David53 »

Hello there

only my second post. Well Ive been messing around trying to design a layout for the Attic space. The layout is moderately large.
I will be going old school DC and applying older techniques to control and blocks.
I have a figure 8 bent at 90degrees and an end to end run. Also a shunting yard. It will be subject to change most likely and although i have all the curves and points to hand I dont have anywhere near enough straight track. So for your critique of the layout I present my first plan.

The dotted red outline to the right is a defunct flue. the red rectangles are where the roof trusses cross the plane of the proposed base.

regards
David
Attachments
First Iteration.png
End2end

Re: First Iteration. Attic space

Post by End2end »

That's rather large.
Make sure you'll be able to reach all of the track to be able to clean it. :wink:
Thanks
End2end
"St Blazey's" - The progress and predicaments.
Welcome‎
Planning
Building
St. Blazey's Works & Depot thread
ChrisGreaves

Post by ChrisGreaves »

David53 wrote:... the red rectangles are where the roof trusses cross the plane of the proposed base.
Hi David. These roof trusses, are they the wooden bits that criss-cross the space at about 45 degrees angle, making triangular shapes in the attic?
And do they extend roof-to-floor of attic?
Thanks, Chris
David53

Post by David53 »

Hello there

It is a bit isn’t it. I’ll probably have removable ‘man holes’ disguised with scenery that I can remove to get reach to the furthest areas.