Layout compromises

Any questions about designing a model railway layout or problems with track work.
barney121e

Layout compromises

Post by barney121e »

Hi

Interested to hear what sort of compromises people have made regarding their layouts, especially if based on a real place. What is a compromise too far?

Cheers

David
End2end

Re: Layout compromises

Post by End2end »

As a beginner I have no rail bridges or inclines on my layout and all bar 1 or 2 pieces of track are set track.
Thanks.
End2end
"St Blazey's" - The progress and predicaments.
Welcome‎
Planning
Building
St. Blazey's Works & Depot thread
Richard08

Post by Richard08 »

barney121e wrote:Hi

Interested to hear what sort of compromises people have made regarding their layouts, especially if based on a real place. What is a compromise too far?

Cheers

David
Size is always going to be the biggest compromise. Without making your own points and crossings how the ready made bits have to fit together is going to be far more influential on what you can/cannot do, enforcing a lot of compromise that will likely end up with a layout that bears little resemblance to the original. The radius of curves ditto - if you stuck to prototype radii (outside docks/industrial settings) curves will take up a lot of space. Even a simple block post (signal box but nothing else), from distant to distant, would be at least 2 miles long (on a line over 60mph)... I looked at the idea of modelling somewhere specific, Mells Road near Frome (freight only branch in the dying days of the remains of the Radstock line), but even in N it would have take some getting in and would have to have been curved, unlike the original, and then geometry would have kicked in. I guess it depends on one's own 'artistic interpretation' as to where the line between 'based on xyz' becomes crossed to it really being fictional.