Chalkhill

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
Dad-1

Chalkhill

Post by Dad-1 »

I think I'm setting myself up for a failure, but I have two sections of flat panel doors sitting here.
Each is 44" long and 27" wide.
To compress and achieve the maximum number of sidings I'm looking at using mostly Peco Set-track points.
Some problems arise from that, but I have somewhere between 15-18 of each hand here. On my recent
shunting layout I used the same points, but to improve running and take away the chance of shorts at the
common crossings have switched polarity with additional feeders to the metal check rails. Although additional
work probably worth it.

This has 11 points, thinking of stud & probe operation, something I've never done before. While I may have the
points I only have 8 point motors, buying 3 won't break me and I'm looking at mounting through the baseboard top

One of the most costly parts of my current thinking is adding edging out of 70 x 20 mm planed pine strip wood.
I'll need 4 lengths at a cost of £40 +. Why do that ?
Well I'm thinking of using the legs made for my Thomas layout. They are held by 6.0 mm screws into blind furniture
fixings that will be embedded into that edging. It makes sense to me to have a second use for these legs.

The Thomas layout is still being used, currently booked for it's 42 outing, but no reason why not to have a second
application for the legs.

Anyway that's a plan, can I be bothered ??? That's the serious question.

Geoff T
Chops

Re: A Wagon Display Yard

Post by Chops »

Your carpentry, for starters, is enviable, if I may say. The whole thing looks quite clever and I hope for all the success with it. The use of dowels looks quite professional. I had tried to add some once to a number of modules; it about did me in. Yours are much better. Please keep us updated.