Controller question.

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
LesW

Controller question.

Post by LesW »

Hi folks.

Although I'm not new to model railways, I started in the 50's, I am new to DCC having not had a layout for about 17 years.
I'm planning to build a large layout in a spare building, it will be around 37 feet x 15 feet in an oval loop with 4 running lines plus sidings, etc. So each loop will be about 100 feet.

My question is, what controllers would members recommend bearing in mind that I would like a separate controller/throttle for each of the 4 loops.

I hope you get what I mean.

Cheers. Les.
Roger (RJ)

Re: Controller question.

Post by Roger (RJ) »

With DCC you don't have a controller for each loop as you might have with dc.

A single controller, or base station, is connected to the layout which can control any individual loco, no matter which track it is on. Some base stations can have additional handsets added to the system but these do not connect to the track.

Additional handsets can be used by additional operators or you could use a separate handset per loco or a number of locos. Handsets, or cabs, can be wired or wireless using various wireless protocols such as Bluetooth and mobile phones or tablets as handsets.

It all depends what you want and how much you have to spend.
LesW

Post by LesW »

Thanks Roger.

You may have hit the nail on the head there.
A separate controller for different loco's, i.e; one on each of the 4 running loops would be my preference and maybe another one for siding/shed movements. That seems to be what I'm looking for as it should make stopping individual trains in stations easier, in my mind anyway.

I'll take it from there and start looking.

Cheers.
End2end

Post by End2end »

My DCC controller can have up to 4 hand controllers plus control of a 5th loco on the man controller itself.