Southern Railway Station Halt Colours?

Having a problem making your model railway layout look real. Post questions and share the results of your model railway scenery here.
GoldenOldie

Southern Railway Station Halt Colours?

Post by GoldenOldie »

On my 1935(ish) Southern Railway micro layout I have a small station halt. I'm using the rather lovely Wills kit SS27 to represent this but I'm uncertain as to how best to paint it up in Southern colours.

I've discovered the Pheonix Precision website which has some useful information but being a railway modelling newbie I'd like some verification that I'm not making a mistake before I go ahead and order yet more paint potsto add to my (wargames based) paint mountain! Once painted I intend to very lightly weather everything.

My thoughts are I'll do the platform surface in a dark wood colour, with P88 Light Stone for the wooden railings at the back of the platform. For the corrugated shelter I'm heading towards a thick strip of Precision's LSWR Goods Loco Green at the base of the shelter and P88 above, with a light grey roof. Does this seem appropriate?

As an aside I'm very used to using Vallejo paints, are there suitable alternatives in their range anyone can recommend?
GeraldH

Re: Southern Railway Station Halt Colours?

Post by GeraldH »

There are some historic colour pictures here which might help...

http://www.disused-stations.org.uk/b/br ... dex1.shtml
Gerald H - BNR Correspondent :-)

My layout: http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Fo ... hp?t=28854
GoldenOldie

Post by GoldenOldie »

GeraldH wrote:There are some historic colour pictures here which might help...

http://www.disused-stations.org.uk/b/br ... dex1.shtml
Thanks for the site link Gerald, I got lost down that particular rabbit hole for quite a while!
GoldenOldie

Post by GoldenOldie »