Poor-running Heljan 47

Discuss Heljan Model Railway products and related model railway topics here.
bunjy76

Poor-running Heljan 47

Post by bunjy76 »

Hello all,

I have an OO gauge Heljan 47 which i’m running on my DCC layout. I bought about 3-4mths ago, initially it did run very well, however i cleaned up the wheels which were pretty mucky and after that all was fine. However recently it has suffered a loss of power/traction, it’ll run for a couple of feet and then come to a standstill even though the motor seems to be running at full power. If i give it a little nudge it will move of again but then do the same thing again. I’ve checked and cleaned the wheels again, and it hasn’t suffered any drops or collisions so i’m at a bit of a loos as to why it’s just given up on me. Seems to me there is a problem between the motor and axle/wheels. I’m not too technical so haven’t really had a poke around inside. Any ideas?

Mod: Topic moved to the Heljan forum section.
Oxley

Re: Poor-running Heljan 47

Post by Oxley »

There's a plastic cup where the drive shafts connect to the worm gear on top of the gear towers
and the cups, which are just a friction fit, have a tendency to split and you basically lose propulsion.

Gaugemaster are the Heljan spare parts agents now. Lots of luck.
Bigmet

Post by Bigmet »

Further to which, if you put dots from a spirit type marker on the wheel rims of the driven wheels you will more easily be able to confirm that drive is lost on one of the bogies, before 'going inside'. Try the loco in both directions too, I have seen one where intermittent drive loss happened on both bogies...

You may yet be lucky, and find that it is the moulding in the flywheel that is only slipping rather than damaged, in which case a dot of cyano to resecure is all the repair required.