Dodgy Couplings

Discuss Dapol Model Railway products and related model railway topics here.
New2N

Dodgy Couplings

Post by New2N »

I am very new to N gauge, giving it a go after many years of OO.
So far, the only 'train I have is a Dapol four coach (including traction units) class 43. The problem is that the standard couplings just do not hold and the coaches are continually uncoupling whilst the train is in motion.
Is there a simple solution to this problem.
Byegad

Re: Dodgy Couplings

Post by Byegad »

First.
Is the track smooth? A bad joint will cause N gauge stock to jump and decouple.
Second.
Are all of the couplings letting go or just some/one?
Third.
For standard N gauge couplings, that look like a ? from above Tacky Wax is fantastic. Well worth buying IMHO.
Byegad

Post by Byegad »

Byegad wrote:First.
Is the track smooth? A bad joint will cause N gauge stock to jump and decouple.
Second.
Are all of the couplings letting go or just some/one? If it's just one is it properly seated in the NEM pocket?
Third.
For standard N gauge couplings, that look like a ? from above Tacky Wax is fantastic. Well worth buying IMHO.
Bigmet

Post by Bigmet »

New2N wrote:...Is there a simple solution to this problem.
Simplest? Return to OO!

It is very simple indeed, N demands considerably more care and developed skill in the matter of stable baseboards, tracklaying and optimisation of the set up of locos and stock to achieve equivalent results to OO in running reliability. If you can patiently work at that, very good results can be yours. I for one don't possess the patience, because I can practically throw together OO (RTR and hand built from kits and scratch) with great reliability, and just cannot do this in N gauge. But, YMMV, and you can only find this out by trying. All the best with it!
Mountain

Post by Mountain »

Bigmet wrote:
New2N wrote:...Is there a simple solution to this problem.
Simplest? Return to OO!