(Very) newbie - please be gentle!

Welcome to New Railway Modellers Forum. Read the Introduction and Terms and conditions of New Railway Modellers model railway forum. Introduce yourself to the members in this section.
Ossian

(Very) newbie - please be gentle!

Post by Ossian »

Well, I've taken the plunge and returned to the world of model railways (note NOT "toy trains" as SWMBO refers to them) after about a 40 year gap...

I'm an IT consultant, living in NE Scotland and have been modelling (1/35 and 1/48) for some years, but feel the need for motion, and ideally the sound of steam. I have started off in N-Gauge (I have a OO small layout that I made for the kids a decade ago, but they went all iPaddy and it gathered dust. I don't have the space to do that scale proper justice, so N is the plan, with a long layout (about 14 by 3 feet) down one wall of my office/mancave (previously a double garage). I'll be going for DCC and computer control eventually - at the moment I have a Hornby Select DCC controller that will do me for a little while, but eventually I know something better will be needed. At present, though, everything involves a PC and SCARM, and having great fun with possible designs.

The period will be early BR, mainly ex LMS but the odd visitor from other regions

I'll have a lot of questions for the more experienced modellers, so please bear with my probably daft questions!
Dad-1

Re: (Very) newbie - please be gentle!

Post by Dad-1 »

'Tis true, the older a newbie is the more gentle we have to be !!
We're not really a rough tough lot, not the Bash Street Kids.

Still quite young (at heart) as you're going 'N', I can hardly see '00' now.

Geoff T.
Bigmet

Post by Bigmet »

Ossian wrote:... please bear with my probably daft questions!
We are pretty good at the principle of 'what is truly daft is not asking questions'.