Heljan Class 47......Not running

Discuss Heljan Model Railway products and related model railway topics here.
bobby

Heljan Class 47......Not running

Post by bobby »

Hello,
I have a Heljan Class 47, which looks pretty unused and newish. It will not run on my oo gauge set up, but when I removed the body from the chassis I was faced with an electronic motherboard, which has left me confused. I have no experience with Heljan, so can someone tell me if I am able to use this loco on my present lay out or is there a "switch" which requires regulating like some of the new Marklin 1 guage, to put it into DC mode.
Any help you can give would be appreciated, the unit is Mint condition so I do not think the loco is faulty, its probrably just me, suffering lockdown Syndrome. Serial number on the motherboard is 85436007.
Hopefully I can attach a photo, but think I need an alternate "Ology" to even use NRM's attachment facility.

regards,
Bobby
Attachments
IMG_5252.jpg
IMG_5252.jpg (10.5 KiB) Viewed 3019 times
Bigmet

Re: Heljan Class 47......Not running

Post by Bigmet »

There's no switches, it's a a regular 12V DC mechanism, with a decoder socket for DCC fitting.

Is the blanking plug fitted in the decoder socket?

Do you have flying leads from your 12V DC controller that you can connect directly to the motor leads to test if the motor runs when power is applied?
Mountain

Post by Mountain »

Often it is these blanking plugs which can cause issues if they don't quite make an elwetrical connection. The idea of them is to make the model easy to convert to DCC as one takes out the blanking plug from the socket, and replaces it with the decoder plug part. However, some of these blanking plugs have caused issues on occasions.
It might not be that which is faulty. There are quite a few things that can make a model act up.