What Track Do I need?

Any questions about designing a model railway layout or problems with track work.
Artisan

What Track Do I need?

Post by Artisan »

Can anyone tell me where I can find online lists of manufacturer’s N gauge track part numbers. I have done some searching but have not been successful. I found online three layouts that would suit my plans for an end to end layout but the plans I have found only show track sections not suggested track part numbers. As a beginner I do not know track part numbers to be able to purchase the correct track and as I am on a budget and want to buy secondhand track to save on costs I need somehow to figure out what track sizes and shapes I will need. I have attached the plans to give an idea of what I want a first layout to look like. I haven't quite decided yet but I will be choosing one of the plans shown below.
Attachments
Simple Loop 4x1 c.jpg
Simple Loop 4x1 c.jpg (19.01 KiB) Viewed 2639 times
Branch Line Terminus c.jpg
Ashburton Terminus c.jpg
Best regards,
Greg
b308

Re: What Track Do I need?

Post by b308 »

If you buy secondhand you have no way of knowing if the points will work, so you buy at your own risk. If you go onto the Peco website and look up N gauge track you will find the catalogue numbers for the various pieces. Bear in mind that there are different radius of points from sharp (9" set-track) upwards. For best looking trackwork I'd suggest you use 12" radius points and flexible track.
Artisan

Post by Artisan »

b308 wrote:If you buy secondhand you have no way of knowing if the points will work, so you buy at your own risk. If you go onto the Peco website and look up N gauge track you will find the catalogue numbers for the various pieces. Bear in mind that there are different radius of points from sharp (9" set-track) upwards. For best looking trackwork I'd suggest you use 12" radius points and flexible track.
Thank you for the information. I will have a look at the Peco site.
Best regards,
Greg