New layout plans

Any questions about designing a model railway layout or problems with track work.
Lookoutdadsabout

New layout plans

Post by Lookoutdadsabout »

Hi all,

just designing a new layout in Peco code 75 and wondered if you had any comments on the station section please, functionality, design, anything seriously wrong etc?
Many thanks Jim
Attachments
Finley Station.JPG
TimberSurf

Re: New layout plans

Post by TimberSurf »

Welcome to the forum!
I am no expert, but my first reaction is that goods on the orange have to stop in the station then reverse onto dark purple to get to the goods shed!
Lumsdonia <--- Hit link to go to my website for full story and wiring advice!
Lookoutdadsabout

Hi Timbersurf, thank you for your quick reply and input. I think was thinking along the lines of a goods could stop at the station on the orange (downline), then the loco would uncouple. A shunter could then enter the blue (upline) from the goods area, reverse back over the double slip (DS), connect with the goods wagons, pull forward back onto the blue via the DS, the reverse into the goods shed?
Emettman

Post by Emettman »

My first suggestion is that the branch-line bay should be allowed to have a run-round loop.
There is room for this without fouling the main line.
Even if the branch passenger services are intended to be solely steam push-pull or DMU, that extra connection would make things much better for branch-line freight, and open the options for the occasional through working. (Excursion?)

My other suggestion would be to lose one track from the loco area, bring everything forward one track width and use that to improve the goods area.
I think the extra track there could make more difference.

Chris
"It's his madness that keeps him sane."
Lookoutdadsabout

Hi Chris, Thank you for your valid input, I had intended to use an automatic shuttle module on the branch line, but your suggestion makes sense.
I will look at the suggestion of a better goods area.