BASEBOARD - another way to consider

Discussion of model railway baseboard design and construction
model-train-hobby

BASEBOARD - another way to consider

Post by model-train-hobby »

Firstly I would say that I am new to model trains and in no way say what I have done is right but, for me, it had advantages and I would like to share them with others.

My base board is not large, 7' 6" by 4'6". It has been done to fit in the only place I have, over a single divan bed in the spared bedroom.

The base board is constructed using probably the most common method, a 3x1 frame, with cross members covered in 9mm plywood and screw fixed together.

Initially I considered a raised area, although a nice feature it had its own drawbacks, the gradients being the one most people warned me about, by having the raised loop it restricted the amount of working loops I could have and, although a nice bridge crossing the track from one side to another would be good it restricted me seeing working track behind it. By not having a raised loop it meant all my track was on one level and really didn't want that it needed, for me, to be more natural and more 3D.

The more I considered the railway in my part of the country, north west, south of the lake district, the more I realised, in general, track does not go up hill, it winds round them or goes through them. The more I looked at this the more I saw that track goes through cuttings in small hills, over bridges of rivers, etc., it also flies over villages, etc. It is fields and roads that go up and down not the track so I decided to make my layout to partially replicate these types of feature.

On top of the 9mm plywood I glued a 50mm sheet of cavity wall insulation, I glued it with Copydex and at the four corners fit small pieces of MDF bolted through the insulation sheet and the plywood so that it would never move.