Penzance in 00 gauge

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
InterCity125
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:38 pm
Location: My model railway
Contact:

Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby InterCity125 » Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:19 am

Hi there. I have just started building a 00 gauge layout of Penzance. It will be an 8′ x 1’6″ exhibition layout. I thought some people might be interested and might be able to give advice and correct me if I do something stupid. I have already aquired some old, very rusty Peco code 100 track and assorted points, mainly Peco, with some Hornby, Bachmann and Graham Farish! I have cleaned about half the flexi track, but have only done one point at the time of writing. I also have the four baseboards, made of 18mm ply. The controller is an ancient H & M Duette until I have enough money to buy a new one. Points will be controlled with Gem UPLs and piano wire in tubes. I can't work out how to post pictures yet
http://modelrailpenzance.wordpress.com/
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=43236
Favourite diesel loco: 47 406 'Rail Riders' (Class 47)/ 9006 'The Fife and Forfare Yeomanry' (Deltic)
Favourite steam loco: 3705 (Pannier)

413x
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 4:39 pm
Location: London

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby 413x » Wed Aug 21, 2013 12:11 pm

Sounds promising. I'd recommend buying new track as this is going to be an exhibition track, older, uglier, dirtier track won't win you many prizes. Also what era will the layout be set in and is there a track plan?

Alex

User avatar
InterCity125
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:38 pm
Location: My model railway
Contact:

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby InterCity125 » Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:10 pm

The track has now been cleaned extensively but it saved money as it was free. To answer your second question it will be BR Blue and Intercity swallow so 70s/80s. I do have a track plan but I'm writing this on my iPhone so I don't have the image. I will post it tomorrow.
http://modelrailpenzance.wordpress.com/
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=43236
Favourite diesel loco: 47 406 'Rail Riders' (Class 47)/ 9006 'The Fife and Forfare Yeomanry' (Deltic)
Favourite steam loco: 3705 (Pannier)

User avatar
InterCity125
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:38 pm
Location: My model railway
Contact:

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby InterCity125 » Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:22 am

http://modelrailpenzance.wordpress.com/
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=43236
Favourite diesel loco: 47 406 'Rail Riders' (Class 47)/ 9006 'The Fife and Forfare Yeomanry' (Deltic)
Favourite steam loco: 3705 (Pannier)

User avatar
InterCity125
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:38 pm
Location: My model railway
Contact:

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby InterCity125 » Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:38 am

http://modelrailpenzance.wordpress.com/
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=43236
Favourite diesel loco: 47 406 'Rail Riders' (Class 47)/ 9006 'The Fife and Forfare Yeomanry' (Deltic)
Favourite steam loco: 3705 (Pannier)

413x
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 4:39 pm
Location: London

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby 413x » Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:13 am

I known Penzance relatively well and I was wondering where you were going to be stopping the layout, like at the footbridge or at the depot further on.

Have a look at haekmaens Penzance layout in n gauge.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=31391&hilit=Penzance&start=75


Alex

User avatar
InterCity125
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:38 pm
Location: My model railway
Contact:

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby InterCity125 » Sat Aug 24, 2013 12:31 pm

I'm not an expert on Penzance, but I will try and find out a bit more. It ends near where the road moves away from the line and there's what looks like an underpass for a stream/river to go under the line.
http://modelrailpenzance.wordpress.com/
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=43236
Favourite diesel loco: 47 406 'Rail Riders' (Class 47)/ 9006 'The Fife and Forfare Yeomanry' (Deltic)
Favourite steam loco: 3705 (Pannier)

User avatar
InterCity125
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:38 pm
Location: My model railway
Contact:

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby InterCity125 » Sat Aug 24, 2013 1:01 pm

Here are some pictures
Image
Image
http://modelrailpenzance.wordpress.com/
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=43236
Favourite diesel loco: 47 406 'Rail Riders' (Class 47)/ 9006 'The Fife and Forfare Yeomanry' (Deltic)
Favourite steam loco: 3705 (Pannier)

User avatar
InterCity125
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:38 pm
Location: My model railway
Contact:

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby InterCity125 » Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:57 am

This is a much better track plan I did earlier on AnyRail 5 EN
Image
http://modelrailpenzance.wordpress.com/
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=43236
Favourite diesel loco: 47 406 'Rail Riders' (Class 47)/ 9006 'The Fife and Forfare Yeomanry' (Deltic)
Favourite steam loco: 3705 (Pannier)

413x
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 4:39 pm
Location: London

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby 413x » Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:36 am

Looks promising, will you still have the station roof and everything and will there be hsts?

User avatar
InterCity125
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:38 pm
Location: My model railway
Contact:

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby InterCity125 » Wed Aug 28, 2013 8:45 am

DEFINATELY HSTs! :D I'm thinking about buying two Lima HSTs as I think they are more detailed than the Hornby one I have already although I have fitted lights with a battery box and switches on the bottom so they stay on all the time even though I'm DC.
http://modelrail.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/dscn3805.jpg
More pictures on my first layout's blog http://modelrail.wordpress.com

As for the roof, I'm not sure what its made of in the 70s/80s, but now it looks like glass.

I've just discovered an upload attachment button just under the box I'm writing this in. I'm pretty sure someone said you couldn't upload pictures, you had to link them!
Last edited by InterCity125 on Thu Aug 29, 2013 6:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://modelrailpenzance.wordpress.com/
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=43236
Favourite diesel loco: 47 406 'Rail Riders' (Class 47)/ 9006 'The Fife and Forfare Yeomanry' (Deltic)
Favourite steam loco: 3705 (Pannier)

413x
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 4:39 pm
Location: London

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby 413x » Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:17 am

Yeah you can upload pictures but they still have to be 800 pixels wide, here's the link to the thread on uploading pictures. viewtopic.php?f=23&t=42629 anyway, hornby have released a new host which is just amazing. If you have a look on YouTube a guy called Intercity 82 has done reviews on them. They're quite pricey brand new and coaches are bought separate and some can be trickey to get hold of but they're well worth it.


Alex

User avatar
InterCity125
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:38 pm
Location: My model railway
Contact:

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby InterCity125 » Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:56 pm

I agree especially the blue/yellow/grey 125. The cheapest one isn't the right period being FGW. Lima ones are fairly well detailed for as little as an eighth of the price. I have been looking for correct length swallow/executive mk3s for ages. Have found one: a TRFB buffet.
http://modelrailpenzance.wordpress.com/
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=43236
Favourite diesel loco: 47 406 'Rail Riders' (Class 47)/ 9006 'The Fife and Forfare Yeomanry' (Deltic)
Favourite steam loco: 3705 (Pannier)

LittleReggie
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:43 pm

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby LittleReggie » Fri Aug 30, 2013 9:13 am

Hi,

I work in Penzance and drive past the station every day. It's not always easy to stop along there but if you wanted any info or pics I might be able to help.

Your photo shows Chyandour Brook, which does indeed run under the railway line (and the road) into the sea at a point opposite the junction in the road. Your red line is slightly further up from this opposite a small railway building (you probably know this anyway).

There is a bend in the road here where it runs just a few feet from the railway line. At this point the roof of a train is almost level with the road. The trains travel at a crawl here and you could literally step onto them and ride into the station! I wouldn't recommend doing this, I hasten to add. :lol:

Regards,
Reg.

User avatar
InterCity125
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:38 pm
Location: My model railway
Contact:

Re: Penzance in 00 gauge

Postby InterCity125 » Sat Aug 31, 2013 7:24 pm

Reg, Thank you, pictures would be very helpful indeed; the number of times I've looked at a picture and noticed something new! Thanks in advance.

I can finally say something is happening. Here are pictures
http://modelrailpenzance.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/progress-pictures/
http://modelrailpenzance.wordpress.com/
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=43236
Favourite diesel loco: 47 406 'Rail Riders' (Class 47)/ 9006 'The Fife and Forfare Yeomanry' (Deltic)
Favourite steam loco: 3705 (Pannier)


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests