Resolving some Hornby N15 issues

Articles which have been discussed in the main article section (7 days+) and are ready to be added to the main site.
redline41190

Resolving some Hornby N15 issues

Post by redline41190 »

I wasnt quite sure where to put this topic, so if the mods feel that it should belong in the Hornby section so be it, I just thought that it would be more helpful here.

If you have a new model N15, you'll notice that the model is quite a beauty, the detail is superb, but the detail parts provided can interfere with the operation of the locomotive, and the front bogey is unsprung often resulting in de-railments.

First off this is my second N15, my first suffered an accident and was returned to Hattons, for a refund, or rather this N15. So I have some past experience :lol: I curently have R2723 'Etarre' and it is mechanically identical to the other N15 I had (Sir Pelleas). On Sir Pelleas I didnt bother to fit the front steps, but did fit the draincocks.

This is the best picture I could find of my modification. The draincocks were cut just after the first vertical bar in them, so that the wheels didnt get pushed off the rails when going around curves. This modification allowed operation on 2nd radius curves with the parts fitted.

I have no photos of springing the bogey, but I have my own directions:
1. Remove the bogey from the main chassis
2. Unscrew the central shaft from the lug nut
3. Place the central shaft, slotted bar, and lug nut to the side and find a suitably "springy" spring, preferably 1/3 of a bachmann one.
4. Take a little bit of superglue or any other glue, depending on how long you want it to sit for, and put it into the hole where the lug nut goes. Place the lug inside being careful NOT to get glue on the inside of the threads. This just makes it easier to screw in the central shaft again.
5.Place the spring between the bogey and slotted bar with the central shaft inserted into both