Not a layout - but railway modelling

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 12349
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Bufferstop » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:08 pm

That calls for a shuttle module, with very long interval. Is it safe for address 0? If no one knows I wouldn't risk it. I bet it's the same chassis as the gandy-dancers.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions

User avatar
Mountain
Posts: 4304
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:43 pm
Location: Somewhere in Wales, UK.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Mountain » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:48 pm

I have one and it is called a candy dancer. It looks almost identical except mine is red and that one has two very small extra bits of metal by one of the men's feet. I looked at mine and yes, it is possible to convert to DCC except for where to put the decoder! Maybe have a decoder as one of the men's backpacks though it would still look large and the wires would be moving too much due to the mans movement.
I have run mine on address 0.
One issue with these little things is to try to keep the wheels clean as they get dirty quick and it doesn't take a lot to stop it dirt wize.

m.levin
Posts: 2001
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 6:46 pm

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby m.levin » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:04 pm

You going to fit a kadee's :wink:

Dad-1
Posts: 6283
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:17 pm

Martin,

I think Kadees would be rather large & 'heavy' looking, but
apart from the fact a two man pumping action wouldn't have the
horse power it certainly would be possible to attach a wire loop
to pull ....... well something !!
Perhaps I should have a damsel in distress tied to my track ?

It would obviously run on '0' but I'll probably put it with my 'Thomas'
stock as we always run one track analogue.


Geoff T
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

User avatar
railwayjim
Posts: 724
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:46 am
Location: Sunny Fleetwood by the sea

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby railwayjim » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:50 pm

Doing a great job with the reeds Geoff!

How about this for something for your new two man vehicle to pull.

Built with small plank sides and a tarp covering the load, could you hide
your DCC gubbings under the tarp? You would probably have to scratch build it
as the Cooper Craft plate layers trolley kit is impossible to find now.

cooper craft trolley.jpg
cooper craft trolley.jpg (73.67 KiB) Viewed 1737 times

Now there's a challenge Geoff - Plate layers pulling their work behind them!

Jim.

Dad-1
Posts: 6283
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:24 pm

You naughty man Jim !!
I'm too busy at the moment, CM at an exhibition in just over a week
and then my Fosdyke Drove in the diorama competition on 31st, BUT.

I was wondering what size axle 'N' gauge wagons have ? I wonder if
some 'N' wagon wheels could be modified to make a low light trailer ?

Crazy idea, but then ...... why not ? could I fix it so a decoder could
be switched out to use as analogue if wanted ? Obviously the answer
is yes it CAN be done, but do I want to ??

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 12349
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Bufferstop » Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:24 pm

I'd have a look for some N or 009 bogie wheels, and a bit of brass tube to fit on the axles, I'll have a look what bits I've got I may have some spare 009. I think it might be a case of filing down the flanges to get the appearance right, my recollection of ganger's trolleys is that the wheels were more like rollers with a small flange on the end. One improvement you would need to make to the design is closed axle holes, the prototypes are open at the bottom so that two men can lift the platform off its axles, then remove the axles from the track to let trains past.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions

Dad-1
Posts: 6283
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Thu Nov 02, 2017 9:28 am

Hi Dave,

Yes true, the winner was in a large scale with an Emmett type scene all scratch
built and humorous, hell even I voted that as number one !!
I was more than impressed with the club members support, only one didn't turn
up, 30 club members and 6 dioramas on the table. Makes me proud to be on
the committee where we have that much support (When pushed a little)

Geoff .
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 12349
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Bufferstop » Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:02 am

Hi Geoff, I looked through my collection of N/009 bits and the only wheels I had were Peco nylon oness - no use at all for widening the gauge as the axle diameter is the least accurate part of the moulding.
it must be the smallest and most minimalistic piece of '00' 4 mm traction ever made

Not quite! Take a look at the Whickam platelayer's motorised trolley and trailer. The motor is actually in the trailer.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions

Dad-1
Posts: 6283
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:35 am

Hi Dave,

Make it good and they'll eventually see the light when it gets more invites
to exhibitions than they have for other stuff. 'Thomas' will be out again at a Library
'do' on the 1st of December, and already has 4 provisional bookings for 2018.

I don't know what if anything you know about the Mckinley Railway, one of the
DCC super layouts taking up half the floor of a £3M house in Bournemouth ?
One of the main 'helpers' there saw my 'Thomas' and thought it brilliant, wanted
the Poole club to make one .... same indifference !!

If a guy with a reputation like the Mckinley behind him what chance do you have ?
Look up the big layout on Youtube.

Bufferstop,

Even if I get the wheels, time would be a problem !! I'm planning club "Skills" demonstrations
for club nights once a month, oh and the Christmas party and the official yearly meal
out with wives ...... Time is shorter than ever now.

Geoff T
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 12349
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Bufferstop » Fri Nov 03, 2017 10:21 am

If you want a job done give it to a busy man!! I'm sure you'll soon lick those members into shape. :)
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions

Dad-1
Posts: 6283
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:35 pm

I shall be disqualified, but it's the thought that counts !
Alex is running a Spring 2018 modelling 'Event', he says to start at the
beginning of May. Tough as I've already started what I said I'd enter, and
I don't have time, or inclination to do another project.

As a result I'll put photographs and description of what and why here, the
ideal place as the heading says "Not a layout, but railway modelling"
I was tired of making wagons and ancillary bits and pieces, then when in the
shed I noted a rather mouldy looking piece of ply. The though crossed my mind
of making a country scene, not even including any trace of railway, but having
room for an almost completed cottage and greenhouse.

Image

In our hobby roomy the greenhouse model was sitting by a small length of code 75
track. An immediate change of plan, how about the end of a siding where there
would be just enough space for a single wagon.

Image

You so often hear moans about the Peco sleeper spacing and I know a pal Dave had
once cut the under sleeper web and opened out the spacing. This was such a short
length I decided to give it a try, using a length of SMP track for spacing measurement

Image

Something of a slow process and not a thing I'd ever do on a layout, but leave you to
judge.
It was at this point where Alex's competition was noted by me, but sorry I just can't
stop, or go backwards !

Pt.2 already for typing in.

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

Dad-1
Posts: 6283
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:54 pm

If you don't try a few different ideas the whole experience could become
boring, sleeper spacing is O.K, but something was missing from a Diorama
to be called "Country Living", WATER, I do like trying to add some.

Extending the build wasn't a problem, Alex may almost forgive me.
A stream was decided on, over the road on a stick-on extension to the
480 x 187 mm original board. That stream would have to be lowered well
below basic board datum.

Image

Three layers of ply made up into a sandwich will be stuck across the front

Image

All the sharp cut edges will be smoothed out using a layer of plaster, plus
all being well, a large tree on the streams bank.

Image

Finally when looking at these photographs I became more aware that Dapol have
not included hooks on their milk tanks. To really improve the look in photographs
I intend adding a hook and 3 link coupling, at one, if not both ends. It's easy
enough to snap in & out the functional Bachmann small tension-lock couplings
when wanted to run in a train.

Image

More to follow as this progresses.

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

Dad-1
Posts: 6283
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:05 pm

I need to keep pushing this along regardless of that 1st May start.

Wanting to add a stream meant attaching a front extension, this is
now screwed and glued into place. O.K so a couple of screws in that
road will need covering when the stream banks are profiled with plaster.

Image

Image

I have loads of drilling holes in matchsticks to come, with additional
fencing along the water meadow edge.

I can no longer eat cheese, but I can make use of that turntable while
I try to see if there is a definite viewing angle.

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

Dad-1
Posts: 6283
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Sun Apr 29, 2018 6:07 pm

Slightly more done .....

Image

Grass laying started, more to do tonight.

Image

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 8 guests