Hornby R602 Power clip

Discuss Hornby Model Railway products and related topics here. This includes (Lima, Rivarossi, Jouef, Electrotren).
Kerluk
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:32 am

Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby Kerluk » Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:15 pm

Another newbie question: Can I use Hornby R602 Power clip with Hornby R605 (1st radius) and R607 (2nd radius) double curves ? Yes I guess but I'm not really sure...
Many thanks in advance for your answers, time and patience.

Kerluk
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:32 am

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby Kerluk » Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Got an answer somewhere else:
"All straight and curved track sections (except R610, R621 and R8090) have locating slots for the hornby power connecting clip R602."
And it's a good news for my current project.

User avatar
End2end
Posts: 4295
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 9:58 pm
Location: At the end....... and sometimes at the other end

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby End2end » Tue Jan 31, 2017 7:06 pm

Solder your wire to the outside of the track instead. :idea: :)
Thanks
End2end
"St Blazey's" - The progress and predicaments.
Welcome‎
Planning
Building
St. Blazey's Works & Depot thread

Kerluk
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:32 am

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby Kerluk » Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:38 pm

Thanks, I'm trying to avoid soldering at the moment because I'm still playing with the track.
The R602 gives me a bit more flexibility until I know exactly where everything will finally go.

User avatar
Mountain
Posts: 3918
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:43 pm
Location: Somewhere in Wales, UK.

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby Mountain » Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:49 am

Be aware that the R602 is designed for DC operation and many of them have interference suppressing capacitors. Early ones don't. Not sure what today's versions have. The R602 is fine for DC use. Slots in most Hornby track sections in certain areas where slots are made. Also will slot in old Triang track anywhere as there is enough room, and also may slot with other makes with room between rails and sleepers, but be aware they can break if forced or if in frequent use where they are slotted in and out regularly.
They are a good idea for those who don't want to or may not have tried soldering. Other options are the Peco version or also Peco now do rail joiners with wires soldered to them.
The R602 is designed specifically for Hornby controller metal end connections. Not to say one can't adapt it. Once when younger I had my cousin (Who is older) solder some wires directly onto the copper inside the power clip. Was ideal for my use at the time.
These days I solder wires to the track. :)

User avatar
NakatsuHime
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 1:52 pm

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby NakatsuHime » Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:42 am

I bought a pack of the Peco track connector jumpers.
These have wires already attached that you can pass through small holes in your baseboard, and then use connection blocks for the power.

Obviously you can solder wire on yourself, but I didn't trust my soldering skills.

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 557
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby RAF96 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:32 pm

In case you cant see the gaps under the rails there is an arrow on the bottom of Hornby track to point out the gaps.

If you are DCC and have analogue clips then just pop the cover off and snip out the capacitor.

This also applies to the Hornby power track, just pop the cover off between the rails and apply the snippers to the blue thing lying there.
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.org.uk/robs_rails.html
β-tester

Kerluk
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:32 am

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby Kerluk » Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:36 pm

Thanks folks. :D No DCC problem in sight because I'm a "DC" guy !

Kerluk
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:32 am

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby Kerluk » Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:08 pm

I can also use Hornby R8201. I have absolutely no need for capacitor.

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3429
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby alex3410 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:28 pm

If your on DC the capacitor wont do any harm, it just interferes with DCC signals which is why its recommended to be removed.

Kerluk
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:32 am

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby Kerluk » Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:54 pm

OK. Thanks.

Kerluk
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:32 am

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby Kerluk » Wed Feb 01, 2017 6:13 pm

Last question of the day: Can I also use the Bachmann Branchline 36-602 Power clip :?:

trainlover23
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:28 am

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby trainlover23 » Thu Feb 02, 2017 8:26 am

Kerluk wrote:Last question of the day: Can I also use the Bachmann Branchline 36-602 Power clip :?:



Yes but the wire fitting is different

DonnyRailMan
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:55 am
Location: White Rose County.

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby DonnyRailMan » Mon Feb 06, 2017 6:41 pm

I find solder the wire to under the rails is far better than using the ugly looking clips.

Kerluk
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:32 am

Re: Hornby R602 Power clip

Postby Kerluk » Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:33 pm

First soldering test. Not really my best shot, but it's a start...

KERLUK'S LAYOUT 07.jpg


Return to “Hornby - including Lima, Rivarossi, Jouef, Electrotren”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests