4 track branch line 4 track terminus

Any questions about designing a model railway layout or problems with track work.
matty198891
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:59 am
Location: stamford bridge york

4 track branch line 4 track terminus

Postby matty198891 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 12:51 am

Can anyone help me I have a 4'track layout that I want to add at the end a 4 track terminus station. It runs parallel to were i stand the back to lines run in to station front to out(left,to right in right left out) and off near side is a siding. What I'm stuck on is how to lay the track signals for the line. It's n gauge streamline/fine scale layout all lines are equal no fast or slow and signals are 3/4 aspect colours what do I need.
Hope can understand unsure how,to,add photo so hope description works.
soz if hard under stand i am dislexic any part dont get tell will retype hope u understand can respond

matty198891
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:59 am
Location: stamford bridge york

Re: 4 track branch line 4 track terminus

Postby matty198891 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:10 am

https://www.facebook.com/photo.phpfbid= ... permPage=1
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152029833973375&set=a.484520298374.256226.504963374&type=3&permPage=1



Hope,one works if not copy past link

New to,this posting links photos Ect [code][/code]
On photo green is station when between track shows were platform is brown is depot I want signal points for the track and entrance to depot. 2 track next depo out station 2 far into station equal speed as branch(no fast slow line) the gap is were to add signals points as have no idea
soz if hard under stand i am dislexic any part dont get tell will retype hope u understand can respond

matty198891
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:59 am
Location: stamford bridge york

Re: 4 track branch line 4 track terminus

Postby matty198891 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:13 am

Want 3/4 aspect signals for entrance exit of station want to know what type,signal new wear and what frack point slip(track is streamline flexi) it is modern day (have national crime agency building so very modern) use n gauge stream fine scare and shorter the better save space
soz if hard under stand i am dislexic any part dont get tell will retype hope u understand can respond

jon_1066
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: 4 track branch line 4 track terminus

Postby jon_1066 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:25 am

How do you want to operate the station? Do you want arriving trains to be able to access any road in the station and vice versa for leaving (ie every road has access to both departure lines?

The shortest way to do it is to use the scissors cross over:

4 roads.jpg
4 roads.jpg (31.5 KiB) Viewed 1846 times


Access to the depot would be via a shunt.

matty198891
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:59 am
Location: stamford bridge york

Re: 4 track branch line 4 track terminus

Postby matty198891 » Sun Feb 23, 2014 1:20 pm

Thanks what's the station to set a points for and can want to know signals
soz if hard under stand i am dislexic any part dont get tell will retype hope u understand can respond

kristopher1805
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 3:22 pm

Re: 4 track branch line 4 track terminus

Postby kristopher1805 » Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:23 pm

A few observations here, generally terminus stations in the UK had arrivals on the left, departures on the right, there was some sort of centre road for the station pilot, 4 track is generally either in one of two versions however
Type 1 generally used
slow & freight - left
fast line left centre
fast right centre
slow right

or Type 2 such as the Standedge line
fast left
fast other direction left centre
slow right centre
slow other direction right

now unless your station ends with freight yards it would be unlikely to be 4 track, however there are ways, one idea I have used on my layout where an old station based on Adolphus Street in Bradford which spent 99 years as a parcel depot, I have modified the design to have 2 left through lines as well as the terminal and this might give you what you want using the Type 2 as above, the station is a Faller train shed with Metcalfe station frontage.

[img][IMG]http://i1222.photobucket.com/albums/dd490/kristopher1805/New%20Towcaster/DSCF0982_zpse995797e.jpg[/img][/img]

The other end
[img][IMG]http://i1222.photobucket.com/albums/dd490/kristopher1805/New%20Towcaster/DSCF0872_zpsc21528e8.jpg[/img][/img]


Return to “Track/Layout Design”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest