Can I get Track sensors?

Basic electrical and electronics, such as DC/Analog control.
grs
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:15 pm

Can I get Track sensors?

Postby grs » Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:26 am

Is there any sort of sensor available that I caould set into the track which will detect a train passing over?
I saw something mentioned in a post somewhere here last week , but I can't find it now.

This in turn would activate scenery, points or anything else electronic through a relay maybe

bigbob
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:21 pm
Location: Chester

Re: Can I get Track sensors?

Postby bigbob » Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:31 am

Have a look here, think the IR DOT may be what you`re after.

http://heathcote-electronics.co.uk/prodindx.htm

Bob
Growing old is compulsary, growing up is optional!


ALL CLASS 50`S SHOULD BE CUT UP INTO SMALL PIECES AND USED FOR SOMETHING MORE USEFUL LIKE A PAPER-WEIGHT

Martin71
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 8:47 am
Location: Perth WA

Re: Can I get Track sensors?

Postby Martin71 » Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:55 pm

Hi

This might help MASTERswitch Ultimate Detector from dcc concepts.

Link

http://www.dccconcepts.com/index_files/ ... switch.htm

detector

Image


Light dependent resistors before installing.

Image

Just an idea I use it for points, signals lights to run motors etc.

Have a read on his site on what it can do.

Hope that helps

martin

grs
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:15 pm

Re: Can I get Track sensors?

Postby grs » Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:38 pm

THanks for that. The post I was thinking of was this

http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=25264&p=311682&hilit=reed#p311682

What I didn't like about the reed switch was that it requires adding a small magnet to the bottom of your locos/rolling stock

Roy Low
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:17 am

Re: Can I get Track sensors?

Postby Roy Low » Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:50 am

My n-gauge layout has LDR's (light - dependant resistors) as track sensors. The output is fed to a simple transistor switch, which triggers relays, ( I've had it with transistor power switching)
The way I use these detectors, is to use the shadow of a passing train to cause a change in the resistance, and the relay then triggers a slow start up to preset speed, or a gentle slow down at stations.
This does work, and no doubt the DCC users can use the LDR's too.

Roy Low

User avatar
Essex2Visuvesi
Posts: 2357
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Finland, Finland, Finland!

Re: Can I get Track sensors?

Postby Essex2Visuvesi » Tue Jun 15, 2010 5:03 am

also there are magnet sensors and reed switches tho these need the trains or stock to be fitted with magnets
Si quam primum vos operor non successio , impono

The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Proud member of the OAM
(Order of the Armchair Modeller


Return to “Electrical & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests