Superstats TMD - OO Scale - Modern Era

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
superstat
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:22 pm

Superstats TMD - OO Scale - Modern Era

Postby superstat » Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:06 pm

Evening all,

Following previous threads I have decided to showcase my proposed layout.

The proposal does not yet have a name, ideas welcome.

The layout will consist of two 4' x 2' boards bolted together end on.

This will form a end to end layout with fuelling point, stabling point and maintainance depot.

The scene will be based in the East Anglian area and feature heavily frieght traffic.

The proposed layout is shown below.

Image

The below pictures show the layout in planning stage

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

I am ordering the wood for the baseboards over the weekend and shall begin construction next week.

Construction of which will be 25 x 100 PAR with 12mm Brazillian Ply.

Any ideas on where i can source a cork bed?

All comments are more than welcome.

Will post pictures and updates as and when.

User avatar
joshs
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: manchester

Postby joshs » Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:34 pm

looks like you have got anice layout there.

cheers josh

Appleton
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Worcestershire, GB
Contact:

Postby Appleton » Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:34 pm

Great track layout, looks like it will give lots of operating potential :)

Stuart Reid
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:24 pm
Location: Monkseaton

Re: Superstats TMD - OO Scale - Modern Era

Postby Stuart Reid » Fri Jul 06, 2007 8:14 pm

superstat wrote:Evening all,


Any ideas on where i can source a cork bed?



What's wrong with a normal one with a sprung mattress? :lol:

Lee
Posts: 606
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:48 am
Location: Wolverhampton

Postby Lee » Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:09 pm

Excellent start there :wink: , thats were i recon i will carry on with my other next layout one day up the loft were i stopped it, im trying to convince me self out of it but i duuno for how long :wink:

PS dont do it that size fill the whole loft bet later on you will want to :lol: :wink:
My N Gauge Layout.


Sunshine In The Lakes <<<<< Old layout no more

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=44159 <<<<< Back to the Lakes (New Layout 2013)

User avatar
peak
Posts: 908
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: Birmingham
Contact:

Postby peak » Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:23 pm

Welcome
I look forward to your progress.
I love TMD's
2 trains, 2 railroad tracks, one going the other one coming back. Click Clack, Click Clack.
Regards
Andy

http://www.brblue.co.uk

User avatar
cold-ash
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:33 am
Location: Sheffield
Contact:

Postby cold-ash » Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:40 pm

How do.

Cork can be obtained in rolls, or Homebase do floor tiles. Five Queen Elizabeth II for a pack of five I believe.
Cheers, Sam

URZ

My blog - http://cold-ash.blogspot.com/ Updated 20/06/07

My Fotopic - http://coldashsphotos.fotopic.net/ slowly being updated.

User avatar
Metrocamel
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 8:49 am
Location: UK

Postby Metrocamel » Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:03 am

Looking great there mate 8) Another Peco shed user! Good choice.
"Out of commission become a pillbox, out of ammo become a bunker, out of time... become heroes"
Layout updated 18/10/09!
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=5360&p=215267#p215267

User avatar
piemanlarger
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 9:30 pm
Location: Skewen

Postby piemanlarger » Sat Jul 07, 2007 6:18 am

Looks like a good start.

Is is Dc or dcc operation?

Only thing that I would change is to make the straight roads outside of the shed door at least long enough (straight) for a loco to sit on without being on the turn towards the point, move the shed back a few more inches, if that makes sense. Its nice to see the loco sitting just outside the shed, even nicer to hear it ideling away there!
A loco with no sound chip? Might as well be unpainted!
EWS sound loco depot viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7263
Olivers Road RMD viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18867&start=30

User avatar
Rail_Fan 15
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:02 am
Location: Manawatu, New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Rail_Fan 15 » Sat Jul 07, 2007 6:42 am

Nice layout, im sure you can also buy cork in long strips in either N or HO scale (HO will work fine).
Todd 8)

The things that come to those who wait, may be the things left by those who got there first.

superstat
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:22 pm

Postby superstat » Sat Jul 07, 2007 4:05 pm

Afternoon, many thanks for all the comments.

I was only laying it out in the loft to get a picture of what it would look like. The track in the pictures was placed on my 'sundeala disaster'.

The layout will be DCC, although I dont currently own any DCC kit at the moment. I'm still humming and haring about which controller to get. I like the look of the Lenz kits, but am open to options for this kind of layout.

The wiring kit that i intend to use is one from Express Models, which utilises a Bus wire with dropppers. Seen here

I am looking into the idea of using a double slip point for access off of the 'mainlines'. This should reduce space needed. Although i have one I have never used it and dont know if the operation is too complicated to get my head round, any comments on the use of these?

I also intend to tighten up all the point work to allow for longer stabling points at the fuelling point and shed. Would the grouping of points cause many operational difficulties?

Many thanks [/quote]

User avatar
ledgero2
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 1:48 pm
Location: used to be Rotherham,but its now Birmingham Uni
Contact:

Postby ledgero2 » Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:00 pm

a nice trackplan there. i too love TMD's, so i cant wait to see more progress. looking good anyway :D

Adam
One day i'll fall out of the clouds and build a layout!!

http://adam-ledger.fotopic.net -my photo site

Lofty

Postby Lofty » Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:23 pm

cold-ash wrote:How do.

Cork can be obtained in rolls, or Homebase do floor tiles. Five Queen Elizabeth II for a pack of five I believe.

For that price you can get a 15m x 40mm (ish) role of styrene from a DIY outlet, which is probably enough to line about 100m of track

Lofty

User avatar
Infrontcat
Posts: 2155
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:35 pm
Location: Southend-on-Sea
Contact:

Postby Infrontcat » Sat Jul 07, 2007 8:08 pm

Hi Aj

Re double-slips, it's actually a lot simpler than it seems, especially if you are using DCC! As for groups of points, there isn't a problem so long as you make sure there are plenty of power feeds to keep the current at a uniform level across the junction or yard in question. I personally throw in an extra feed every few feet anyway, just to be on the safe side :)

Cheers

Tim
"Kashi-mashi, kashi-mashi..."

Moorcroft (St Anthonys)

superstat
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:22 pm

Postby superstat » Sun Jul 08, 2007 12:47 pm

From a prototypical perspective what do people think to adjusting the layout so that the shed is accessed first from the mainline and then the loco's can either move to stabling of fuel.

Whereas at the moment the locos come into fuel and then go to shed. or if they wish to go to stabling that have to go into fuel then to shed then to stabling.

I'm just trying to ween out any operational difficulties...


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest