GM500 wiring problem

Basic electrical and electronics, such as DC/Analog control.
User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 4050
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: GM500 wiring problem

Postby Flashbang » Mon Jan 10, 2022 2:12 pm

Pleased to read you are on track to getting things working.
Yes, the factory fitted wires on the surface mounting motors are quite fine and IMO should be a larger wire gauge size. But where these motors are used I recommend a suitably sized hole is drilled in the baseboard next to the motor and pass the factory fitted wires down to below baseboard. Then very near by install a 3 way strip of terminal block and shorten the three wires up and connect them to one side of the terminal block. Then run the larger point operating wires to the other side of the terminal block. This then gives the best "Fighting chance" for the pulse of power to actually operate the point. :D
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

User avatar
lickeyjunction
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2021 7:40 pm
Contact:

Re: GM500 wiring problem

Postby lickeyjunction » Mon Jan 10, 2022 7:49 pm

Thanks Flashbang

I did all of that with the PL-11's, apart from shortening the wires. Next time around!!

It's been an education, but at least I feel like I have progressed. It all makes sense in the end, like many, I just need to drill down to the detail in the detail, to then understand the original issue.

Cheers

LJ
It doesn't matter what you do, someone always knew you would


Return to “Electrical & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests