SORRY - yet another rookie electrofrog puzzle - pse help!!

Basic electrical and electronics, such as DC/Analog control.
dfarndale

SORRY - yet another rookie electrofrog puzzle - pse help!!

Post by dfarndale »

NEW 0-16.5, 7mm Narrow Gauge layout being planned - wiring conundrum
DC CONTROL - NOT DCC

Hello everyone

Just joined the forum - thanks Admin for approving this ...although you might change your mind later :)

I am a complete newbie to model railways but want to build a small (2m x 1m) 0-16.5, 7mm narrow gauge layout using Peco [Narrow Gauge] Streamline Code 100 flexi OO track; and 10x Peco electrofrog points [also Narrow Gauge type]; all of this that I have already purchased. I will be using all short wheelbase 0-4-0, 0-16.5 locos (planning to have 7 locos; mostly mining types - some will be scratchbuilt; others will be converted donor Hornby (China made) locos.

I have no need for ANY points motors since I will be able to reach all using the simple "Hand of God" method ...and want to keep things really simple. Am I right in saying:

(A) That with no point motors being installed, there is no need to do ANY wiring to these electrofrog points; and also that frog polarity (which I've tried to understand) does NOT need to be switched with stock off-the-shelf Peco points?

But that I WILL need to use insulated joiners/fishplates at the two centre rails (point frog rails?)?

And

(B) But that if I DO make the often recommended Peco points changes (to improve reliable points running with 0-4-0 locos; i.e. snip two existing factory links, solder on two new ones, etc.) that I WOULD need to arrange frog polarity switching; but that without any points motors installed, this would not be easy/possible to arrange?

Why am I finding all this so confusing :) ???
Despite having watched a few YouTube videos and read forum articles.
...love everything Narrow Gauge railways!
fourtytwo

Re: SORRY - yet another rookie electrofrog puzzle - pse help!!

Post by fourtytwo »