DC

Basic electrical and electronics, such as DC/Analog control.
YoYo
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:06 am

DC

Postby YoYo » Sat Sep 25, 2021 3:53 pm

If running DC could I have more than 1 pick up point from 1 controller. Is this feasible if so I could change a point, ie thinking for shunting, On mainline if point A was open I could run still run down to point B to push in stead of pulling, even multiple sidings. Hope this comes across as making sense.

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 4051
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: DC

Postby Flashbang » Sat Sep 25, 2021 5:31 pm

Hi
Yes of course. Always try to arrange rail feeds so as they flow in the single end of a point and are then switched by the points direction. Frequently this means two or more rail feed locations. In fact, best practice is to fit rail feeds to all rails and have insulated rail joiners providing isolating sections that the feed to the isolating section rail is via an On/Off switch.
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 13489
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: DC

Postby Bufferstop » Thu Sep 30, 2021 4:52 pm

I've moved this thread from Welcome to Electrical and Electronics which is more appropriate.

John W
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions


Return to “Electrical & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests