Final design now need advice

Basic electrical and electronics, such as DC/Analog control.
Jules59

Final design now need advice

Post by Jules59 »

Hi guys i need advice on the attached layout with the electrics. The locos are all DC only.
I have available electrofrog and insulfrog pointwork available and will be looking to put point motors and any microswitches as required .

I have 2 hornby duette controllers and envision an outer loop, inner loop and branch line loop and fiddle yard as shown . The outer loop needs to be continuous into the fiddle yard and inner loop if required and the inner loop in turn needs to access both too .

Im not very experienced with wiring electrofrog points but understand smaller locos will pick up better on them but all I've read on them people cut wires and start soldering additional wires under them which is something im not confident enough to do. So im looking to use insulated joiner's and wired joiners and micro switches as connectors where possible.

Any comments or outline thoughts would be greatly appreciated .

Jules
Attachments
COMPLETE LAYOUT 4.JPG
COMPLETE LAYOUT 4.JPG (31.75 KiB) Viewed 1223 times
LAYOUT 4 CROSSING CHECK.JPG
Mountain

Re: Final design now need advice

Post by Mountain »

I was looking at your plan. (If I knew how to draw on your plan I would!). Your layout design is such that you really need to wire at least the inner loop using the cab control method because it will be easier to wire it into zones. This will also give the advantage of stopping one train on one zone section and allowing another train to pass on the same loop of track in a second zone on the loop, if that makes sense?
Flashbang has a site which explains all this in detail. He also has written a book about model railways which includes details about wiring called "The Newcomers Guide To Model Railways".