Has anyone tried Railway Scenic's Stay Alive kits?

Post all your model railway electronic problems, solutions and discoverys here.
Tom@Crewe
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 11:05 am
Location: Crewe

Has anyone tried Railway Scenic's Stay Alive kits?

Postby Tom@Crewe » Sun May 10, 2020 1:45 pm

Hi, Has anyone tried Railway Scenic's Stay Alive kits?

They have 4 sizes 1000uf, 2200uf, 3300uf and 4700uf (they do give dimensions too)

I know no one can probably be accurate for all applications but what sort of time would these give to bridge loss of power?

I want to fit them to a Bachmann Jinty and Gronk so physical size is probably going to limit me.

They seem cheep as chips but are they worth it?

https://www.railwayscenics.com/dcc-and-wire-kits-c-20_283.html?osCsid=682d3edc4kcmsfamm3m4d15c10
Never enough time...........

fourtytwo
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:41 pm
Location: Norfolk (Bodecia's country) UK

Re: Has anyone tried Railway Scenic's Stay Alive kits?

Postby fourtytwo » Mon May 11, 2020 8:18 pm

Am I correct in thinking you mean in conjunction with a DCC layout ?
I tried a few experiments in a DC layout with very limited success as the voltage stored is just the normal motor voltage so the flywheel effect is somewhat limited AND I model N-gauge steam so almost no space in for example a 57xx!!
Does the pain of N gauge steam ever end!

Tom@Crewe
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 11:05 am
Location: Crewe

Re: Has anyone tried Railway Scenic's Stay Alive kits?

Postby Tom@Crewe » Tue May 12, 2020 4:19 pm

Yes it is for a DCC loco
Never enough time...........

User avatar
End2end
Posts: 4919
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 9:58 pm
Location: At the end....... and sometimes at the other end

Re: Has anyone tried Railway Scenic's Stay Alive kits?

Postby End2end » Tue May 12, 2020 6:33 pm

You could probably make up 3 or 4 of them for the same price if you bought the components yourself.
Thanks
End2end
"St Blazey's" - The progress and predicaments.
Welcome‎
Planning
Building
St. Blazey's Works & Depot thread

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3613
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Has anyone tried Railway Scenic's Stay Alive kits?

Postby Flashbang » Tue May 12, 2020 7:16 pm

TBH the uF values given are not that large. I won't expect a Stay Alive at those values to give more than a second or so movement. But a lot will depend on the loco they are fitted into and size of the capacitance offered.
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 694
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK

Re: Has anyone tried Railway Scenic's Stay Alive kits?

Postby RAF96 » Tue May 12, 2020 8:48 pm

RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.org.uk/robs_rails.html
β-tester

User avatar
Peterm
Posts: 1611
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:26 pm
Location: Bribie Island. Australia

Re: Has anyone tried Railway Scenic's Stay Alive kits?

Postby Peterm » Tue May 12, 2020 11:41 pm

If you don't want to make your own, Lais Kung Fu stay/keep alives pack a hefty punch and come with the charging circuit built in. They can be bought as a square package at 13mm long by about 9mm square or a flatter but longer pack. As Flashbang says, you won't get much out of 4,700uf.
Pete.

User avatar
PinkNosedPenguin
Posts: 1580
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Has anyone tried Railway Scenic's Stay Alive kits?

Postby PinkNosedPenguin » Thu May 14, 2020 1:49 pm

TCS have a range of keep alives: https://tcsdcc.com/accessories/keep-alive which are apparently now only available from them direct (but within the UK):
  • KA3 and 4 claim to power a loco for 6 to 20 seconds - I have used them on my little O-16.5 locos and definitely got at least 6 seconds.
  • KA1 and 2 are physically much smaller but have "approximately one-third of the capacitance of KA3/KA4 devices"


Return to “Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests