Peco SmartSwitch and Smart Frog

Post all your model railway electronic problems, solutions and discoverys here.
Pensioner
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:19 am

Peco SmartSwitch and Smart Frog

Postby Pensioner » Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:33 am

We are building a new layout and decided rightly or wrongly to go for the Peco Smartswitch complete with optional Smart Frog.

The smart switch works well changing the point direction via slow operating servo in turn the smart switch trigger the smart frog to switch the
Frog polarity. We have checked the wiring serval time and isolated individual boards / track section and checked the function of the set up.
Throw the panel switch points change direction and the LED on the control show the direction selected. In all cases the frog in isolated from the connecting track, checked the switch over with a multi meter all OK.

Great !! turn on the track power, in this case DCC, load on a loco, runs ok along the track and over the points, when the loco wheel pass over the insulated joint between the rail and the frog the light change on the control panel showing the opposite direction. Further if a loco travel against the point it does not stop but carries on forcing it's was across the section.
We have not been able to find any info on the type if switch used win the Smart Frog, If in turn the gap between either rail and the frog are shorted out the panel light change but the point stay put.


Has body else experienced this problem we desperately need to resolve as we have 12 set of points including 2 double slips all acting the same.

Pensioner

In pen name and years

User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 10409
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: Peco SmartSwitch and Smart Frog

Postby Bufferstop » Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:49 pm

Testing continuity the switch rails should be connected to the adjacent stock rails, the frog should be isolated from all. When running the smartfrog will instantly match the frog polarity to the wheel which runs on to it. On DCC you should be able to push through a miss set point providing the spring lets you. It's an operating error not a wiring one if a loco runs into a trailing point set against it. Some points will require links between the blades and crossing rails to be cut, older points (design not age) may require gaps to be cut.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions


Return to “Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests