wires for use with CDU

Post all your model railway electronic problems, solutions and discoverys here.
User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3437
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

wires for use with CDU

Postby alex3410 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:50 pm

Hey guys, I had some trouble wiring up my CDU's last time I worked on my layout (its been way too long) and I think the issue was the wiring I had used to go from the CDU to the point motors.

with that in mind which wiring should I be using? and is there any harm in getting 'heavy duty' stuff? I was thinking about getting some mains wiring from Wilko as its cheapish/local / easy to get but didn't know if it would introduce a whole bunch of new issues going from one extreme to another!

Tricky Dicky
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: wires for use with CDU

Postby Tricky Dicky » Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:43 pm

As a minimum I would suggest 16/0.2 wire from the CDU to each point. Mains wire should be OK as long as it can handle 3-4A of current. Over specifying wire is never an issue.

Richard

User avatar
pete12345
Posts: 834
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Coventry

Re: wires for use with CDU

Postby pete12345 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:23 pm

Heavier wiring will result in less voltage drop from CDU to point motor, which means a higher power at the motor. Nothing wrong with using mains cable for this- helpfully you have three cores within the outer sleeve, which will make it easier to keep the wiring neat to each motor. Just wire them to coil A, coil B and ground for each motor individually. This will give reliable operation.

Worth mentioning that actual mains voltage should not go near the baseboard itself- power supplies go on the floor and a low-voltage cable connects from there to the layout. So there should be no cause for getting mains mixed up with point motors.
Once an engine attached to a train, was afraid of a few drops of rain...

User avatar
Ironduke
Posts: 709
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:04 am
Location: Ballarat Victoria Australia
Contact:

Re: wires for use with CDU

Postby Ironduke » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:46 pm

I found the job was made easier by adding a 3 way terminal block to each motor on short wires prior to installing the motor under the layout. That way you can just screw the wires in rather than having to solder while laying on your back.
I used 3 core trailer wire (used for wiring on a trailer).
Image
Regards
Rob

User avatar
pete12345
Posts: 834
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Coventry

Re: wires for use with CDU

Postby pete12345 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:56 pm

Terminal blocks are the way to go. If you use the accessory switch you can simply use a 6-way block instead.
Once an engine attached to a train, was afraid of a few drops of rain...

User avatar
End2end
Posts: 4430
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 9:58 pm
Location: At the end....... and sometimes at the other end

Re: wires for use with CDU

Postby End2end » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:07 pm

Although I will be using SEEP PM1 point motors they have been done the same way. 5 wires soldered to each point motor connection with the other end of the wires screwed into a 5 port(?) connector block.
Thanks
End2end
"St Blazey's" - The progress and predicaments.
Welcome‎
Planning
Building
St. Blazey's Works & Depot thread

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3355
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: wires for use with CDU

Postby Flashbang » Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:34 pm

End2end wrote:Although I will be using SEEP PM1 point motors they have been done the same way. 5 wires soldered to each point motor connection with the other end of the wires screwed into a 5 port(?) connector block.
Thanks
End2end

5 wires? Three for operation and three more for the switching is more normal.
I suspect youre only using one side on the switch?
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

User avatar
End2end
Posts: 4430
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 9:58 pm
Location: At the end....... and sometimes at the other end

Re: wires for use with CDU

Postby End2end » Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:39 pm

Sorry yes it's 6
Thanks
End2end
"St Blazey's" - The progress and predicaments.
Welcome‎
Planning
Building
St. Blazey's Works & Depot thread

User avatar
TimberSurf
Posts: 2433
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: N.Wales
Contact:

Re: wires for use with CDU

Postby TimberSurf » Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:57 pm

Bare in mind that 16/2 is actually 0.5mm CSA, if your talking flex, 3 core round comes in a few sizes (0.5, 0.75, 1.0, 1.25, 1.5 & 2.5MM) so 0.5 is no better than 16/2, I would recommend 0.75mm or 1.5mm (more readily available sizes), if the runs are less than 1m then the 0.75 would be more than adequate.
Image
Lumsdonia <--- Hit link to go to my website for full story and wiring advice!

HarryR
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 9:10 pm

Re: wires for use with CDU

Postby HarryR » Fri Oct 13, 2017 7:44 pm

Alex,

12voltplanet.co.uk http://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/cable-sizing-selection.html have a useful if some what 'frightening' utility to calculate voltage drop..useful if your cable run exceeds the 1m length Timbersurf referred to.


Return to “Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests