how to power accessories

Post all your model railway electronic problems, solutions and discoverys here.
User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3439
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

how to power accessories

Postby alex3410 » Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:36 pm

Hi all,

My shunting layout is progressing well its running from DCC at the moment (feed from the main layout at the moment)

my question is whats the best way of connecting up point motors (via CDU) and lights? the CDU will hopefully be switching max of 3 points in one go

I have spotted this link however its only 6V and i cant seem to find a 12V one? would this be ok or do i need to keep looking?

Thanks in advance for any help :)

mahoganydog
Posts: 754
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: Sat looking at the computer screen

Re: how to power accessories

Postby mahoganydog » Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:50 pm

Hi Alex,

Have a rummage for an old controller; cheapest, easiest way and safe; there are cut outs built in. If you're using filament lamps it's best not to use the full 12v, 10v is better and prolongs the bulb life.

Jim
In a world of fences and doors who needs windows and gates?

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3439
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: how to power accessories

Postby alex3410 » Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:58 pm

Hi Jim thank you for the reply

it will be LED's (with resistors in place)

I have a spare DC controller but was hoping for something a little neater / compact as i may be taking the layout out so the plug from my link above would be ideal

i have found these on ebay:
Image

would the new style train set controller from Hornby fit this? ( i have one - somewhere :lol: )

mahoganydog
Posts: 754
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: Sat looking at the computer screen

Re: how to power accessories

Postby mahoganydog » Tue Apr 01, 2014 5:35 pm

Hi Alex,

Those plugs are a pain because there are many different diameter pins and it's sods law that it'll be wrong. Cheap/free old multi-pin computer leads save so much effort and soldering.....

Jim
In a world of fences and doors who needs windows and gates?

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3439
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: how to power accessories

Postby alex3410 » Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:30 pm

i thought there was some logic to the sizes of plug - ie all 12v are the same size but 6v are different size to stop getting them mixed up?

another option i guess would be to chop the connector off and use terminal blocks to connect it all up?

or rip the hornby controller apart to get a matching connector

mahoganydog
Posts: 754
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: Sat looking at the computer screen

Re: how to power accessories

Postby mahoganydog » Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:52 pm

Hi Alex,

You can buy them from Maplin and solder you own wires in. If you are going to use two (one for 12vdc/one for 16vac) then I would advise making them failsafe so you can't plug them in wrong i.e. wire them with the opposite connector so for example on the supply end 12vdc has the female plug and 16vac has the male. This way there can be no LED fry up by getting it wrong....

Jim
In a world of fences and doors who needs windows and gates?

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3439
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: how to power accessories

Postby alex3410 » Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:58 pm

thanks for the tip :) i think i can get away with the one as my CDU takes both AC and DC so can run it from the DC used to power the lights

hicklingmick
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 7:16 pm
Location: hickling norfolk

Re: how to power accessories

Postby hicklingmick » Thu Apr 03, 2014 5:27 pm

Loads of 12v power supply on ebay like this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/UK-3-PIN-DC-1 ... 4178a2b785

User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 11510
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: how to power accessories

Postby Bufferstop » Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:07 pm

alex3410 wrote:i thought there was some logic to the sizes of plug - ie all 12v are the same size but 6v are different size to stop getting them mixed up?


Logic don't come into it! but blatant protectionism does. Try finding a plug from the whole set that plugs into anything with "Sony" on its case. They mix the pin and barrel diameters to stop you plugging in a sensibly priced replacement power supply.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions

User avatar
Essex2Visuvesi
Posts: 2357
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Finland, Finland, Finland!

Re: how to power accessories

Postby Essex2Visuvesi » Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:41 pm

Laptop power supplies are a good bet

Let me know if you want one and I'll sort you one out
Si quam primum vos operor non successio , impono

The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Proud member of the OAM
(Order of the Armchair Modeller

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3439
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: how to power accessories

Postby alex3410 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 7:28 am

Thank you all for the help & advice :D

My current plan is to take apart a hornby train set controller so I know I have a matching socket :lol:

@essex thank you for your kind offer I will let you know if things don't go to plan with the hornby one :D


Return to “Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests