Very Juddery Scotsman

Post all your model railway electronic problems, solutions and discoverys here.
Bayf

Very Juddery Scotsman

Postby Bayf » Tue Jul 12, 2011 11:24 pm

Hey everyone, my first post but I have enjoyed reading things on the boards for some time now. I am fairly new to model railways and it is all a steep learning curve for me.

I have bought most of my stuff off eBay and have been relatively successful. I have an 8 by 4 layout which is kind of like the track mat but stretched out a bit with Somme extra sidings.

The problem i am having is this. I have recently gone to DCC and I have one type 25 diesel loco that works a treat. I am blown away by the acceleration feature. It is smooth all around the track as I would expect. I also have a flying Scotsman that was part of a set. When the layout was analogue it ran really smooth, now it is dcc is it juddery, but only on the straights. I have cleaned the track and am testing the loco on a straight whe the power is. I have also cleaned the wheels so everything is good on that front.

The Scotsman is tender driven and the decoder went in fine and I think is set up ok. It certainly programmed with no issue.

My questions are these (got there in the end!) would you expect the tender to be able to move on it's own without the loco? If so mine isn't which is obviously a problem

Secondly, is my theory that the contact betweethe fender and loco is too blame. When it is going round corners, the contact is made much stronger and so the engine has a good signal.

Does anyone have A wiring diagram of what is going on in the main body of the loco.

I hope all this makes sense and thanks for reading my first post.

Bayf

Peterm

Re: Very Juddery Scotsman

Postby Peterm » Wed Jul 13, 2011 2:11 am

First of all, welcome to the forum.