Unregulated Power Supply ?

Post all your model railway electronic problems, solutions and discoverys here.
User avatar
Kevuk3
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:27 pm
Location: Wolverhampton

Unregulated Power Supply ?

Postby Kevuk3 » Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:31 pm

I am currently wiring in street/building lights to my layout , all my lights are 6v . I was wondering if it mattered using an unregulated PSU . There will always be at least 10 lights switched on at any one time .

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3389
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Unregulated Power Supply ?

Postby Flashbang » Mon Mar 21, 2011 3:14 pm

Hi
Firstly the need is to understand the difference....
Unregulated PSU will cause the output volts to be high at initial switch on and drop under load. The more load applied to the PSU the further the voltage will fall.

Regulated has the output volts remaining constant to within a few millivolts of the rated output volts regardless of whether a load is placed on the output or not. Up to the maximum current rating.

Unregulated PSUs are much cheaper than regulated ones.

For your use you may find it easier and cheaper to obtain a 500ma to 1.0Amp Unregulated PSU.
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

User avatar
Kevuk3
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:27 pm
Location: Wolverhampton

Re: Unregulated Power Supply ?

Postby Kevuk3 » Mon Mar 21, 2011 4:46 pm

Hi Flashbang , many thanks for your reply , i had managed to find a 6v 4amp unregulated PSU , as i am planning on powering about 30ish lights from this but they are switched in sections of about 10 , i wanted to make sure it would not damage the lights being unregulated.


Return to “Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest