Page 2 of 2

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 6:34 pm
by Flashbang
Here you go......

Image

:D

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:39 pm
by Lewis Nash
Cheers :)
Just one last question,what would be a suitable 12v power supply?

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:21 pm
by Flashbang
Lewis Nash wrote:Hi


Yes I know there should only be 1 red light but my signal is showing 2 red lights at the same time! :?

The signal is a basic traintonics 2 aspect red/green :)
The bottom LED should be red with the top LED green.

Regards
Lewis

Lewis Nash wrote:Cheers :)
Just one last question,what would be a suitable 12v power supply?

So what exactly is/was powering it when you asked the original question?

I would use one of these, or similar, as the variable dc output is regulated and it is of reasonable high power to fed many signals or other LED lit accessories......
This is, at the moment IMO an excellent value PSU http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=32754

Regulated means the output voltage remains virtually constant from no load to its maximum loading.

If you didn't wish to remove the low voltage moulded plug on the end of the PSU wires, then one of these dc in-line sockets could be used on the ends of the wires feeding off to the switches and fader unit. The 2.5mm one would be ideal and make the central pin Positive. http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=43091

Or you could use, if you have one, an old train set controller which has a 12 volt dc 'UNCONTROLLED' output would also be ok. Just ensure you know which way around the output polarity is on the uncontrolled terminals (Positive + & Negative -)

While a train set controllers 'Controlled' output could be used, you would need to know which way around the power was being fed on the output terminals (which is Positive and which is Negative) as turning the controllers speed knob to the opposite direction would reverse the polarity and possibly blow the LEDs or the fader unit etc. Also many of these units actually output far above 12 volts. So I wouldn't for these two reasons recommend using this option.

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:35 am
by Lewis Nash
Hi,I was using the track output from my old gaugemaster combi but this is needed to control my DC layout,Nashton terminus.
Thanks for all the help, :)
Cheers
Lewis