traintonics signal wiring trouble

Post all your model railway electronic problems, solutions and discoverys here.
User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3313
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Flashbang » Thu Jul 22, 2010 6:34 pm

Here you go......

Image

:D
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

User avatar
Lewis Nash
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:31 am
Location: Working on Arpley Street

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Lewis Nash » Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:39 pm

Cheers :)
Just one last question,what would be a suitable 12v power supply?
NASHTON
website- http://nashton.webs.com/index.htm


ARPLEY STREET
http://arpleystreetmodelrailway.webs.com/
class 60 preservation group-http://www.c60pg.co.uk/
Lewis[ArpleyModeller]

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3313
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Flashbang » Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:21 pm

Lewis Nash wrote:Hi


Yes I know there should only be 1 red light but my signal is showing 2 red lights at the same time! :?

The signal is a basic traintonics 2 aspect red/green :)
The bottom LED should be red with the top LED green.

Regards
Lewis

Lewis Nash wrote:Cheers :)
Just one last question,what would be a suitable 12v power supply?

So what exactly is/was powering it when you asked the original question?

I would use one of these, or similar, as the variable dc output is regulated and it is of reasonable high power to fed many signals or other LED lit accessories......
This is, at the moment IMO an excellent value PSU http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=32754

Regulated means the output voltage remains virtually constant from no load to its maximum loading.

If you didn't wish to remove the low voltage moulded plug on the end of the PSU wires, then one of these dc in-line sockets could be used on the ends of the wires feeding off to the switches and fader unit. The 2.5mm one would be ideal and make the central pin Positive. http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=43091

Or you could use, if you have one, an old train set controller which has a 12 volt dc 'UNCONTROLLED' output would also be ok. Just ensure you know which way around the output polarity is on the uncontrolled terminals (Positive + & Negative -)

While a train set controllers 'Controlled' output could be used, you would need to know which way around the power was being fed on the output terminals (which is Positive and which is Negative) as turning the controllers speed knob to the opposite direction would reverse the polarity and possibly blow the LEDs or the fader unit etc. Also many of these units actually output far above 12 volts. So I wouldn't for these two reasons recommend using this option.
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

User avatar
Lewis Nash
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:31 am
Location: Working on Arpley Street

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Lewis Nash » Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:35 am

Hi,I was using the track output from my old gaugemaster combi but this is needed to control my DC layout,Nashton terminus.
Thanks for all the help, :)
Cheers
Lewis
NASHTON
website- http://nashton.webs.com/index.htm


ARPLEY STREET
http://arpleystreetmodelrailway.webs.com/
class 60 preservation group-http://www.c60pg.co.uk/
Lewis[ArpleyModeller]


Return to “Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests