traintonics signal wiring trouble

Post all your model railway electronic problems, solutions and discoverys here.
User avatar
Lewis Nash
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:31 am
Location: Working on Arpley Street

traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Lewis Nash » Fri Sep 11, 2009 5:25 pm

hi

I am fitting a traintonics 2 aspect signal to my layout,I have wired the signal to the PCB but how do I wire the on on switch to operate it and the 12v power supply?
NASHTON
website- http://nashton.webs.com/index.htm


ARPLEY STREET
http://arpleystreetmodelrailway.webs.com/
class 60 preservation group-http://www.c60pg.co.uk/
Lewis[ArpleyModeller]

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3225
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Flashbang » Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:58 pm

Lewis Nash wrote:hi

I am fitting a traintonics 2 aspect signal to my layout,I have wired the signal to the PCB but how do I wire the on on switch to operate it and the 12v power supply?

Hi
I have no idea of what the "PCB" on the Traintronics signal does??
Normally a signal is wired as below.
Assuming it uses LEDs, a resistor is needed in the return lead. This may be already fitted onto the PCB?
Also I have shown both a Hornby R046 Yellow lever switch or a On/On Single Pole Double Throw (SPDT) toggle switch

Image
Last edited by Flashbang on Thu Jul 22, 2010 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

User avatar
Lewis Nash
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:31 am
Location: Working on Arpley Street

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Lewis Nash » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:04 pm

hi flashbang
It has a resistor and terminal blocks to attach the power source and signal wires,the signal comes with basic instructions on how to fit it :x ,the diagram should sort the problem out,cheers,

Lewis :)
Last edited by Lewis Nash on Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
NASHTON
website- http://nashton.webs.com/index.htm


ARPLEY STREET
http://arpleystreetmodelrailway.webs.com/
class 60 preservation group-http://www.c60pg.co.uk/
Lewis[ArpleyModeller]

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3225
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Flashbang » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:28 pm

Hi
Yes, I know what PCB stands for. It was what was mounted onto it that was the issue.
As you say the resistor is pre mounted onto the PCB, then wire as I have shown omitting the resistor in the drawing.
Note, the terminal block on the Traintronic PCB may not be in the same order as I have drawn my drawing.
But it must be marked or the wiring instructions that came with the signal show their correct orientation.
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

pheaton
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:29 pm

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby pheaton » Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:15 pm

For the benefit of Flashbang, a traintronics (3 aspect interface board)

Image

The way i see it is wire the negative side of the rotary switch to the 0v terminal and then each postive position (BETWEEN the power supply) then to the light required...feel free to correct me though flashbang.

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3225
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Flashbang » Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:01 pm

Hi
Think you'll find its wired like below....
The rotary switch is wired into the positive supply and each of its 3 outputs is connected to the appropriate terminal on the PCB.
Wasn't there a wiring diagram supplied with the signal?

Image
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

pheaton
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:29 pm

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby pheaton » Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:24 pm

Thats what happens when i guess :oops:

Thanks flashbang... :D

User avatar
Lewis Nash
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:31 am
Location: Working on Arpley Street

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Lewis Nash » Thu Jul 22, 2010 12:33 pm

Hi Flashbang,

Ive wired the signal using the diagram you supplied.However,when the switch is pushed one way BOTH LEDs are red and when thrown the other way NEITHER of the LEDs are illuminated.So my signal only shows red,any suggestions?
Regards
Lewis
Last edited by Lewis Nash on Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
NASHTON
website- http://nashton.webs.com/index.htm


ARPLEY STREET
http://arpleystreetmodelrailway.webs.com/
class 60 preservation group-http://www.c60pg.co.uk/
Lewis[ArpleyModeller]

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3225
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Flashbang » Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:38 pm

Hi Lewis
Assuming your referring to the three or four aspect signal wiring?
There is no "Push on" function on rotary switch!
The switch turns to one of three or more fixed positions (Ways). In each position the common connection wiring tag (Pole) is connected to one of the output wiring tags (Ways). Move the switch from the first position to the next position and as it moves it breaks away from the first tag and makes connection to the second tag and so on until the stop position is reached.
This is an example of a rotary switch (requires in addition a suitable knob to turn the shaft of the switch)...http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=2417
For a three aspect signal a 4 pole 3 way rotary switch and suitable know is normally used.
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

User avatar
Lewis Nash
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:31 am
Location: Working on Arpley Street

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Lewis Nash » Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:57 pm

Hi
I made an error earlier when describing the problem,
Im wiring a 2 aspect signal and am using an ON-ON switch.Ive wired it using the diagram above and when I switch it one way it does work-both of the LEDs are red-however only the bottom LED should show red at this stage.
When I switch the other way no lights are illuminated,Im using the 12v supply from a gaugemaster combi-can I buy a specific 12v supply which is designed for model railways to replace the combi?

Regards
Lewis
NASHTON
website- http://nashton.webs.com/index.htm


ARPLEY STREET
http://arpleystreetmodelrailway.webs.com/
class 60 preservation group-http://www.c60pg.co.uk/
Lewis[ArpleyModeller]

User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 10562
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Bufferstop » Thu Jul 22, 2010 2:41 pm

Sounds like you've got the lead from the power supply and one of the leads from the pcb crossed over at the switch.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3225
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Flashbang » Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:28 pm

Lewis Nash wrote:Hi
I made an error earlier when describing the problem,
Im wiring a 2 aspect signal and am using an ON-ON switch.Ive wired it using the diagram above and when I switch it one way it does work-both of the LEDs are red-however only the bottom LED should show red at this stage.
When I switch the other way no lights are illuminated,Im using the 12v supply from a gaugemaster combi-can I buy a specific 12v supply which is designed for model railways to replace the combi?

Regards
Lewis

Hi again

I'm getting lost now..... 2 x lit red LEDs??
There should only be one red LED in a UK multi aspect signal.
Red at the bottom, then depending on type a 2 aspect would have a green or yellow aspect directly above the red. Or a 2 aspect distant would have yellow at the bottom with a green above.
3 aspect are normally - red at bottom, yellow in the middle and green at the top.
4 Aspect are red at bottom, yellow, green and 2nd yellow at the top.
See here for conventional 2 aspect arrangements http://www.signalbox.org/signals/semaphore2.htm

I assume as the signal is 2 aspect, it has two separate LEDs? i.e. 1 x red and above the red is 1 x green or 1 x yellow LED depending on signal type.

What make of signal is it?
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

User avatar
Lewis Nash
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:31 am
Location: Working on Arpley Street

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Lewis Nash » Thu Jul 22, 2010 4:11 pm

Hi

Yes I know there should only be 1 red light but my signal is showing 2 red lights at the same time! :?

The signal is a basic traintonics 2 aspect red/green :)
The bottom LED should be red with the top LED green.

Regards
Lewis
NASHTON
website- http://nashton.webs.com/index.htm


ARPLEY STREET
http://arpleystreetmodelrailway.webs.com/
class 60 preservation group-http://www.c60pg.co.uk/
Lewis[ArpleyModeller]

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3225
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Flashbang » Thu Jul 22, 2010 4:43 pm

Hi
I assume your signal is the Traintronics TT102

Did it come with the "Fade in, Fade out" circuit board or any other circuit board? This may effect the wiring method. It certainly will not be wired as per my drawing that I posted on 11th Sept '10. This for a basic common Cathode signal. I have corrected the drawing to add some words to that effect.

As I said above, if it comes with any special circuit board it may well be wired differently?

Wasn't there any wiring details supplied with the signal?
Could you post the wiring sheet if possible?
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

User avatar
Lewis Nash
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:31 am
Location: Working on Arpley Street

Re: traintonics signal wiring trouble

Postby Lewis Nash » Thu Jul 22, 2010 5:51 pm

Yes it is the fade in /fade out type and it did come with a PCB circuit board.I lost the instructions but they werent much help anyway.

The PCB has a resistor built in.

On one side it has a 3-way terminal saying TO SIGNAL

0v
green+
red+

then at the other end another 3-way terminal saying TO SUPPLY

0v
green+
red+
NASHTON
website- http://nashton.webs.com/index.htm


ARPLEY STREET
http://arpleystreetmodelrailway.webs.com/
class 60 preservation group-http://www.c60pg.co.uk/
Lewis[ArpleyModeller]


Return to “Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest