Three way turnout problem

Post all your model railway electronic problems, solutions and discoverys here.
kingmi53
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:40 am

Three way turnout problem

Postby kingmi53 » Sun Apr 15, 2018 10:02 pm

I've recently installed a couple of peco three way turnouts and in conjunction with a number of two ways they form the entrance to my fiddle yard. I have linked the three rails on the turnout as shown in a number of videos but my loco stops as it try to pass over. The linking of he three rails also serves to power the points and I have isolating fishplates at all the frogs. No motors have been fitted as yet. The loco runs fine over the two way points which I've wired/powered the same way. Have I missed something obvious!!

User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 10153
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: Three way turnout problem

Postby Bufferstop » Sun Apr 15, 2018 11:11 pm

Take a look here for Flashbang's way to do it. You'll need to scroll down the page a bit for the threeway point.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3203
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom

Re: Three way turnout problem

Postby Flashbang » Mon Apr 16, 2018 10:08 am

Hi

You cannot use the Peco Electrofrog three way point without some form of frog polarity switching being used.
Without some form of frog switching you have at least two dead pieces of rail in the 3 ways pointwork!
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

kingmi53
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:40 am

Re: Three way turnout problem

Postby kingmi53 » Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:56 pm

Oh well at least it will make me focus on what point motors I'm going to use.
Thanks


Return to “Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest