3D printed King's Cross Station circa 1990-2010

Have any questions or tips and advice on how to build those bits that don't come ready made.
RBTKraisee

3D printed King's Cross Station circa 1990-2010

Postby RBTKraisee » Sat Mar 21, 2020 12:08 am

I'm still a newbie around here, so I'm not certain this is the correct section to put this and I encourage any mods to relocate it as necessary.

I want to start this thread to show ongoing progress as I design and build a turn-of-the-millenia King's Cross passenger station before it's latest re-development.

Let me begin by saying that this thread is entirely inspired by the amazing work shown on Steve's (AKA Atso) "Mainly 3D Printed LNER Locomotives in N gauge" thread. If you haven't seen it already, you gotta go take a look! Also, Steve pointed me at Paul Walker's 1950's King's Cross model in N, and that's really impressive and inspirational for me too.

I'm starting with a 1:1 CAD design to match my reference material as precisely as possible, but I'm including a few extra settings (mainly to ensure minimum thickness parts) that will allow me to more easily re-scale it however I want. My own goal here is to build my own model in UK N-Gauge 1:148 scale.

So far, I've:

1) Found enough research material to get me started (I'm a Brit living in Florida, so I'm planning a trip back to Blighty to take loads of photo's, whenever this COVID19 thing finally passes),
2) Layed out a PECO track layout in SCARM,
3) I've placed simple outlines for the main buildings on the West side,
4) The platform for the main part of the station (not extended to the side yet),
5) Begun work on the main walls,
6) Designed the overhead girders,
7) Designed the window frames,
8) Designed basic light fittings - though I want to revisit these to allow for LED installation,
9) Got myself a DLP 3D printer (and learned how to use it properly) to prototype all the parts with extremely high detail.