How to start kit building

Have any questions or tips and advice on how to build those bits that don't come ready made.
Jkelly

How to start kit building

Post by Jkelly »

Hi everyone, just looking for some advice (again!). Ive been making plastic kits for a few years now and I think its time to start moving onto metal... So, I don't really know the skills of soldering but I feel its important to learn it. I think starting off with a cheap metal wagon kit in 00 gauge would be a great place to start, but what kit should I get? Ive also been looking into the prospect of whitemetal kits. As DJH are so expensive and for the pros, I thought that Keyser might be a good spot to start. Apart from eBay, where can I get one? They seem very elusive! Also, what experiences do people have with these old kits? Im not looking for a fine scale super smooth loco, just something I can have fun with, and end up with a decent model. Thanks for the advice,
Jonathan
Mountain

Re: How to start kit building

Post by Mountain »

Try a small cheap kit like a yardcrane or something like that first. Something that is not expensive. Brass or tinplate may be easier to learn. Whitemetal needs to have the correct temperatures as too high a heat and one will melt the material one is trying to solder. One also could do with different temperature solders for more awkward areas, and ideally, a temperature controlled soldering iron.
I've not tried white metal myself. Many people use superglue with whitemetal which does the job.
Jim S-W

Post by Jim S-W »

Avoid Keyser kits as a start point. They can turn out well but they are an awful lot of work. For brass build a pair of functional bogies. Should only cost you about £7. Brassmasters or MJT would be ideal.
b308

Post by b308 »

Just to get whitemetal out of the way first, I've always used Superglue and had no issues, ordinary or Gel. You can solder them but you need a low melt (very low!) unless you want holes! Best to stick with glue is my advice.