potential dumb painting question time

Have any questions or tips and advice on how to build those bits that don't come ready made.
Michaelaface

potential dumb painting question time

Post by Michaelaface »

hello group its me again with another daft question thats probably more opinion based than anything

so recently I've started getting into repainting my locos and coaching stock and so far I've been using enamel paints via an airbrush for this, but after coming across the vallejo youtube channel and seeing what can be achieved with with acrylic paint is there any reason that enamel paint "appears" to be prefered or maybe the first choice?

I mean I'm no expert on paints and painting, currently just trying to teach myself everything, but right now I'm struggling to see why enamel paints are actually better? they stink, take ages to dry, are annoying to clean out of the airbrush and I always find I end up wasting more than I'd like just getting them out of the tin

now vallejo provide a range of acrylic paint designed for airbrushes that can be poured via a helpful nozzle directly in to the airbrush paint cup, so I guess my question here is, what are the advantages of enamel paints? why do they seem to be the ones I always see people using when doing model railway painting
Paul-H

Re: potential dumb painting question time

Post by Paul-H »

Hi

I suppose the obvious difference is that Enamels should be a more durable finish once dried, although Acylics can be quite tough once fully cured.

Acrylics are easier to clean up after as they only need water and are quite odourless compared to enamels.

The Vallejo range of paints are excellent and although their Model Air range does seem a good idea at the time you soon come to realise you are paying a premium for less paint and more water. Its better to use the Model Color range and their thinner, although you can use water without too much issue, their thinner contains a resin to help adhesion.