protecting card buildings

Have any questions or tips and advice on how to build those bits that don't come ready made.
truckdoctor

protecting card buildings

Postby truckdoctor » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:09 pm

I am new to modelling and but am trying to create some buildings loosely based around the underground architecture of the 60s- 70s period using card and printed paper, on the cheap. Having printed out brick paper and pasted it to my newly constructed card building I find that touching it makes the ink run and destroys the effect. So is there any product to protect it from damp fingers and the ingress of dirt and dust I could use?
Thanks, Steve.

luckymucklebackit

Re: protecting card buildings

Postby luckymucklebackit » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:50 pm

Hi - Welcome to the forum - A light coat of matt varnish before assembly is recommended by the Scalescenes producers, also gives a better texture to the finished building.

Jim
This Signature Left Intentionally Blank, but since I have written this and I intended to do it, this Signature is intentionally not blank. Paradox or What?
My layout - Gateside and Northbridge

Ironduke

Postby Ironduke » Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:32 pm

I try to avoid waterbased glue when using my own printed brick paper. Even PVA tends to soak through and change the colour. I use a solvent based "craft glue" which I get from the scrap-booking section of a local craft franchise in Aus called "Spotlight". Sorry there are no active ingredients listed on the bottle.
Regards
Rob

Mountain

Postby Mountain » Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:48 pm

A friend of mine is really into the download and print buildings. He uses card from items which came out the freezer as this card is made specifically to be used in a damp environment.

The old way to protect card from damp was to use shellac.
Enjoying 7mm narrow gauge.

TimberSurf

Postby TimberSurf » Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:59 pm

I researched this and determined the best cost effective stuff was Mod Podge Matte Finish