CAD 3D PRINTING MODEL MAKING

Have any questions or tips and advice on how to build those bits that don't come ready made.
timbologist

CAD 3D PRINTING MODEL MAKING

Post by timbologist »

Hello all.

For a while I have been thinking about writing something about what I have been doing in the area of Cad, 3D Printing and my Modelling.

For the last 9 months I have been working with a friend in the UK I'm in Australia on the revival of the Linka System. I have been Designing, and printing on a 3D printer new components and now new Tiles,
I do the printing at home using Fused Filament Fabrication which is the printers that use the spools of filament.
for those interested below is a link for the collection of items that have been printed, to give you an idea of what is possible.
http://s1328.photobucket.com/user/timbo ... t=3&page=1

It's not an easy road, there is so much to learn, My background is I'm a tool maker with Computer Aided Design and Computer Aided Machining experience, which is subtractive manufacture, whereas 3D printing is
additive manufacture. So you need to get a different mindset about it all. How you design items, and how they go together is different. because the process just can't do certain things.

With the right setup the results are very good not quite as good as Injection moulded but not bad.

The first few post I will go into describe the current project I am working on that is a water tower, the included picture shows its current status

The ridging is not printed but made from foil, the former that was used to make the ridging was printed, This is one handy thing about the 3D printer if you want something when the shops are shut you just make it.

hope this will be of interest to someone

cheers
Tony
water tower tank
water tower tank
P7150011-VGA.jpg (191.81 KiB) Viewed 6412 times
water tower tank
water tower tank
P7150012-VGA.jpg (234.03 KiB) Viewed 6412 times
water tower tank
water tower tank