Hedges and Fencing

Having a problem making your model railway layout look real. Post questions and share the results of your model railway scenery here.
rob_ram88

Hedges and Fencing

Postby rob_ram88 » Mon Oct 17, 2011 8:28 pm

Hi All,

I am after some advice on the best way of putting hedging and fencing.

I have some ready made fencing that clips to the track, but want to use it going away from the track across a field etc.. How can I make this stand up. I have tried putting holes in and trying to glue the posts in but this does not work.

I am a beginner and have just sorted my track layout and want to do the scenery now.

Thanks

Bufferstop

Re: Hedges and Fencing

Postby Bufferstop » Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:05 pm

Have a look at the Ratio fencing kits, they do loads of different styles, and it will stand up if you glue the posts into holes.
John W
aka Bufferstop.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions

kas1611

Postby kas1611 » Tue Oct 18, 2011 12:34 am

For hedgerows you can't go far wrong with scouring pads, especially if you can find nice green ones. I used these on a OO layout and they worked really well. Had to paint the ones I had as they were grey but with some scatter and little bits of lichen added and the odd tree growing out of them it created a nice effect. Plus you don't have to drill holes for poles everywhere.

gppsoftware

Postby gppsoftware » Mon Dec 12, 2011 3:55 am

kas1611 wrote:For hedgerows you can't go far wrong with scouring pads, especially if you can find nice green ones. I used these on a OO layout and they worked really well. Had to paint the ones I had as they were grey but with some scatter and little bits of lichen added and the odd tree growing out of them it created a nice effect. Plus you don't have to drill holes for poles everywhere.

I really wouldn't do this because scouring pads look like, well, er, scouring pads.