Concrete Track

Having a problem making your model railway layout look real. Post questions and share the results of your model railway scenery here.
Hulldude15
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:19 pm

Concrete Track

Postby Hulldude15 » Sun Oct 03, 2010 8:51 pm

Hi everybody,

A quick question... A lot of modern layouts have peco concrete track but with normal wooden points. Is this prototypical or are concrete points not readily available. I been thinking about putting it in my layout but I have always thought it looks odd.

Thanks

hulldude15

m8internet
Posts: 1640
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:32 pm
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland

Re: Concrete Track

Postby m8internet » Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:34 pm

Peco still haven't solved how to recreate points in such small scales that would be rigid enough
I think everyone agrees that such points are LONG overdue
Glasgow Queen Street Model Railway layout : modern image N gauge using DCC

User avatar
ste234
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:02 pm
Location: Teeside

Re: Concrete Track

Postby ste234 » Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:37 pm

Had Peco produced Concrete points, I would have used concrete on my layout, but I stuck with wood, it looks better than mixing them IMO.
'Springfield', N gauge Modern Era Layout

User avatar
stuartp
Posts: 1187
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Concrete Track

Postby stuartp » Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:03 pm

Concrete bearers in pointwork are a relatively modern feature, last 15 years or so I think, and only for major relaying projects at first. Prior to that all concrete sleepered track would have had timber bearers in the pointwork, and I'd suggest most of it still does. Both types look similar covered in brake dust which is why the difference isn't so obvious on the prototype.
Portwilliam - Southwest Scotland in the 1960s, in OO - http://stuart1968.wordpress.com/

CheekyPaul
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:20 pm
Location: Reading
Contact:

Re: Concrete Track

Postby CheekyPaul » Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:24 pm

Peco have been producing peco points in 'concrete' recently - it's a start but its in OO. Dunno about N gauge. I only found out recently. Does this helps?
My previous layout: Welton West & Welton Central stations:
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=35304

Hulldude15
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: Concrete Track

Postby Hulldude15 » Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:57 am

Thanks for the help everyone.

@CheekyPaul I am modelling in OO, so that's good.


Return to “Scenery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests