Parkside shock-absorbing open wagon kit.

What are you up to on your workbench
robb1

Parkside shock-absorbing open wagon kit.

Postby robb1 » Mon Mar 16, 2020 8:40 am

I picked up an old, secondhand Parkside shock-absorbing open wagon kit at an exhibition and could do with some assembly advice. It is complete except for the plastic rod for the tarpaulin bar, which is missing. I wouldn't be surprised if the original owner of the kit broke this plastic rod while trying to bend it, and discarded the kit in frustration. Should I use brass rod to replace this tarpaulin bar? What diameter should I use and how should I paint it?
Is a set of transfers available from somewhere?
Any other general tips or a photo of the real thing would be appreciated.
N.b. I'm not a complete novice at plastic wagon kits but have never made a Parkside kit before.
Thanks in advance for any tips.
Rob

luckymucklebackit

Re: Parkside shock-absorbing open wagon kit.

Postby luckymucklebackit » Mon Mar 16, 2020 9:16 am

For all things wagons, Paul Bartlett's site is normally the place to go, but have just checked his site and every wagon pictured has a tarpaulin in place so you cant see the bar.
Here is a photo of a completed kit though, hope it helps.

3009973.png
3009973.png (419.94 KiB) Viewed 340 times

From memory wagons of this type rarely had a nice straight bar, most were bent and distorted through years of misuse

Jim
This Signature Left Intentionally Blank, but since I have written this and I intended to do it, this Signature is intentionally not blank. Paradox or What?
My layout - Gateside and Northbridge

Bigmet

Postby Bigmet » Mon Mar 16, 2020 1:40 pm

I would use 'handrail wire' roughly half millimetre diameter, and finish in rusty grime.