Dapol wheels

Discuss Dapol Model Railway products and related model railway topics here.
Richamp

Dapol wheels

Postby Richamp » Fri Nov 04, 2016 8:47 pm

Hello, I'm new to this having been bought a Hornby Tornado set, it played on my mind 'til I made a 6x4 table then it played on my mind 'til I bought a Somerset Belle set. So far so good. Then I went to a local model rail exhibition and among other things I got a DAPOL milk tanker.

It just derails all the time I've added 10grams but no difference.

Thing is I have a similar Hornby truck that doesn't derail, the only difference I can see is the wheels. The flange on the Dapol truck is half the size of those on the Hornby truck. I'm guessing that's the problem.

Here's the question: if I buy Hornby wheel sets will they fit on the Dapol and how do I get them off. Is it possible to just lever them off without damaging anything.

I thank you all in anticipation.

D0260

Re: Dapol wheels

Postby D0260 » Fri Nov 04, 2016 9:38 pm

The Dapol axle is a different length to the Hornby and Bachmann one . As to whether you could swop the wheels , I havent checked if they were the same axle diameter or not.. Check the back to backs , because the shallow flanges leave them easier to derail than the Hornby deep ones, and make sure the centre wheel set is 0.1-0.5mm narrower so there is a bit of lateral play when going round curves - You're not trying to run them round size 1 curves and points are you?

Dad-1

Postby Dad-1 » Fri Nov 04, 2016 9:50 pm

I hate to say it, but it's probably your track.
First being a 6 wheel wagon it has problems going around 1st radius curves although adjustment of
the wheel Back to Back measurements should enable it to run.
I fear your biggest problem is track that is not absolutely flat. As you have noted Dapol and many kits
use wheels of a finer scale and therefore smaller depth flanges. Any twist will allow wheels to lift and
once the flanges are above rail head height they will de-rail.