4ft x 3ft roundy-roundy in N gauge

Post your design ideas for any layout that you are planning to build in the future. Keep members up-to-date with your designs and future plans for your layout.
roganty

4ft x 3ft roundy-roundy in N gauge

Postby roganty » Fri Mar 04, 2016 12:10 pm

Hi all,

I'm just starting out, and I have an initial design that I am reasonably happy with, but I think it needs some tweaks from people more in the know than me.

My ideas for the layout is a main loop around the outside so that I can set up a train and let it run (that'll keep the boy happy!) and a middle section where I could do some shunting work.
The board will be foldable and split into two 2x3 sections. The dimensions are based on 'standard' sizes you can buy from the diy sheds.

The hinge section will be disguised as a viaduct, and a removable road deck section added on top to further hide the hinges.

I would like to keep the industry to one side and leave the other side clear for 'scenic developments'

I have tried to avoid using R1 curves and curved points as most of the advice on this forum is to avoid them if possible.

mylayout1-small.jpg
My first attempt
mylayout1-small.jpg (66.75 KiB) Viewed 1722 times

This is my first attempt, I like it, but it just doesn't seem right, and I just couldn't get the bottom right crossing correct (it is just two rails crossing - not good)

mylayout2-small.jpg
Second attempt
mylayout2-small.jpg (61.28 KiB) Viewed 1722 times

Second go. On my first go I had the trains running anti-clockwise, by switching to clockwise I could eliminate the R1 curves.
I also got rid of the crossing and put in something more conventional, but I'm not all that happy as one of the points would be right on the edge of the join.

mylayout3-small.jpg
Third time lucky
mylayout3-small.jpg (56.7 KiB) Viewed 1722 times