How to add sand.

Discuss real world railway operations in this forum. Find out how to make your model railway as accurate as possible.
User avatar
Tiddles
Posts: 844
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 6:17 pm

How to add sand.

Postby Tiddles » Sat Feb 22, 2014 8:11 pm

Do modern British diesel locos still us sand?

If so how is this sand stored and what equipment is used replenished it?
The Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, “Linking 13 Great States With The Nation.”

User avatar
PeterH
Posts: 1401
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:04 pm
Location: Watford
Contact:

Re: How to add sand.

Postby PeterH » Sat Feb 22, 2014 9:28 pm

I observed a sand-pipe on a Cl.321 electric yesterday, so I presume the answer is 'yes' - although you'd have to ask someone wiser than I for more information!
"Gentlemen, pray silence for the President of the Royal Society for Putting Things on Top of Other Things."; 'Make Tea, not Love.'
Camel Spotting Thread.
My layout thread.

Adi.p
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Peterborough

Re: How to add sand.

Postby Adi.p » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:55 pm

Quite a few modern diesels still have sand boxes, especially the ex-BR 20's, 08's, 47's and 57's. The amount of sand needed is smaller than you may think so I presume it is loaded by hand e.g. A bag of sand poured into the box by the driver.
The young railway enthusiast, an endangered species

b308
Posts: 4951
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 5:48 pm
Location: North Worcs

Re: How to add sand.

Postby b308 » Sun Feb 23, 2014 8:51 am

Yes they still have sanders, but it varies from class to class how it's fitted and delivered...

http://www.rgsonline.co.uk/Railway_Grou ... ss%201.pdf

Pennine MC
Posts: 656
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 7:23 am

Re: How to add sand.

Postby Pennine MC » Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:10 am

In extremis, a bag of sand (or other abrasive fines) could be carried in a bag on the footplate; I'm sure I've read of it being necessary with 47s in their early days on some MGR workings (47s were not designed with sandboxes, and though I'm not familiar with the current fleet, I'm not aware of any huge retro-fitting programme during BR days).

senorsenales
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:37 am

Re: How to add sand.

Postby senorsenales » Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:33 am

Not a loco but a DMU, Class 165/166 Turbos have sandboxes located under one of the doors of each car and is capable of taking 25 kgs at a fill.

Other more modern rolling stock like the Voyagers had what is known as 'one shot' sanders ie one use only and that's it, train taken out of service at the next suitable location. Totally ill conceived and I believe they have been changed to carry more. Got caught out at Oxford more than once where I was advised by NR Control a Voyager was terminating due to the use of the sander before I had heard from the driver that he had used it, as he was required to do.

b308
Posts: 4951
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 5:48 pm
Location: North Worcs

Re: How to add sand.

Postby b308 » Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:17 am

They now have two shot sanders, only have to be taken out if they use both or cannot be reversed. Not known any that have been terminated since they fitted the two shot ones.

User avatar
Tiddles
Posts: 844
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: How to add sand.

Postby Tiddles » Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:27 am

When refilling in the depot do they just poor a bag of sand in to the sander or is there some kind of equipment similar to the US "Sand Tower".
The Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, “Linking 13 Great States With The Nation.”

b308
Posts: 4951
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 5:48 pm
Location: North Worcs

Re: How to add sand.

Postby b308 » Sun Feb 23, 2014 2:00 pm

Depends on the class of loco/unit. I believe the 22x ones are like a jar of sand, but I could be wrong as I've never seen one close up...

User avatar
stuartp
Posts: 1079
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: How to add sand.

Postby stuartp » Sun Feb 23, 2014 3:10 pm

As far as I'm aware it's all delivered bagged, it's the only way to guarantee the stuff stays dry without massive expenditure in drying equipment.
Portwilliam - Southwest Scotland in the 1960s, in OO - http://stuart1968.wordpress.com/

User avatar
Tiddles
Posts: 844
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: How to add sand.

Postby Tiddles » Tue Feb 25, 2014 7:07 pm

stuartp wrote:As far as I'm aware it's all delivered bagged, it's the only way to guarantee the stuff stays dry without massive expenditure in drying equipment.


Sounds like a bag of "Kiln Dried Sand" that is used in block paving :shock:
The Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, “Linking 13 Great States With The Nation.”

User avatar
luckymucklebackit
Posts: 3326
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:05 am
Location: Troon - where the Duchesses went to die
Contact:

Re: How to add sand.

Postby luckymucklebackit » Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:56 pm

This Signature Left Intentionally Blank, but since I have written this and I intended to do it, this Signature is intentionally not blank. Paradox or What?
My layout - Gateside and Northbridge
Image


Return to “Real World Railways”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests