Gauge 1 A4

Discussion of large gauge model railway specific products and related model railway topics (problems and solutions). (1 gauge, O gauge, S gauge etc)
forest446
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 9:58 am
Location: yorkshire

Gauge 1 A4

Postby forest446 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:08 am

Hi All im wanting to build a Gauge one A4 but no idea where to start iv seen the o gauge kits but not a gauge one.
Am i looking at scratch building :shock: :roll: as i dont think iv the skill set for that
Image
A railroad engineer must be sure not to loose his train of thought or he might go down the wrong track.

User avatar
Essex2Visuvesi
Posts: 2357
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Finland, Finland, Finland!

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby Essex2Visuvesi » Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:15 am

Apparently Accucraft have one in the pipeline
Si quam primum vos operor non successio , impono

The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Proud member of the OAM
(Order of the Armchair Modeller

forest446
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 9:58 am
Location: yorkshire

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby forest446 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:49 am

Essex2Visuvesi wrote:Apparently Accucraft have one in the pipeline


It was mentioned back in 09 along with 4472 and a black 5 but they pulled out.
would be nice to have an A3 and an A4.
only british outline i have is thomas for the garden 8)
Image
A railroad engineer must be sure not to loose his train of thought or he might go down the wrong track.

User avatar
Essex2Visuvesi
Posts: 2357
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Finland, Finland, Finland!

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby Essex2Visuvesi » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:27 pm

http://www.wagonandcarriage.co.uk/

there are some UK outline locos here.

I have the deltic kit awaiting building
Si quam primum vos operor non successio , impono

The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Proud member of the OAM
(Order of the Armchair Modeller

forest446
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 9:58 am
Location: yorkshire

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby forest446 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 7:44 pm

do they come with everything you need to get it up and running.
that deltic is looking tempting tho iv not built a brass one before
Image
A railroad engineer must be sure not to loose his train of thought or he might go down the wrong track.

User avatar
Essex2Visuvesi
Posts: 2357
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Finland, Finland, Finland!

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby Essex2Visuvesi » Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:08 am

no you need to add motor, gearbox, pickups, wheels etc

I'll have a look at mine tonight and ill let you know what extras are needed... I got mine about 2 years ago and I dont remember off the top of my head what parts I bought to complete it
Si quam primum vos operor non successio , impono

The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Proud member of the OAM
(Order of the Armchair Modeller

55H
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 2:12 am

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby 55H » Sat Jan 07, 2012 3:25 am

You can throw £3900 Lawrie Loveless's way for a fully finished ready to run brass A4

or you can buy a resin kit from JPL models cost you around £1000 plus wheels, motor, paint transfers tel 01942 896138

or Malcolm Mills will build you one from a JPL kit for around £1500 all in

Gauge 1 model company are bringing out a live steam one for under £3000 later this year

Thats your choice

Now if you want a nice G1 Duchess in brass :D

John Finescalebrass (UK)

User avatar
ceejaydee
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:54 pm

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby ceejaydee » Sat Jan 07, 2012 4:34 pm

55H wrote:You can throw £3900 Lawrie Loveless's way for a fully finished ready to run brass A4...)


A frightening amount of money for a model locomotive but still represents good value compared with what you'd probably have to pay a professional builder if you wanted to commission a hand built model.
Regards
Christopher D.

User avatar
Essex2Visuvesi
Posts: 2357
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Finland, Finland, Finland!

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby Essex2Visuvesi » Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:00 pm

Gauge 1 is certainly something that can't be done on a budget
Si quam primum vos operor non successio , impono

The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Proud member of the OAM
(Order of the Armchair Modeller

User avatar
ceejaydee
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:54 pm

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby ceejaydee » Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:13 pm

Essex2Visuvesi wrote:Gauge 1 is certainly something that can't be done on a budget


I agree and most certainly not in regard to the larger mainline locos.
However the Bachmann class 03 and 04 shunters are still available at around £375 new if you go to Tower Models and Tower along with Finescale Brass have some good smaller locos at around the £600 - £700 mark - not cheap but it doesn't take too many of today's OO locos to get to that price especially if sound chipped and not much more than the equivalent 7mm scale kits.

Mercian Models have some tempting kits too and their diesel 'starter kit' is around £250 complete.

Up until very recently you could buy a brass kit for a Ruston & Hornsby 48DS for £85 which just needed wheels, motor and gears - say £150 for a G1 loco - nice if diesel is your thing :wink:
Regards
Christopher D.

forest446
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 9:58 am
Location: yorkshire

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby forest446 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:28 pm

55H wrote:You can throw £3900 Lawrie Loveless's way for a fully finished ready to run brass A4

or you can buy a resin kit from JPL models cost you around £1000 plus wheels, motor, paint transfers tel 01942 896138

or Malcolm Mills will build you one from a JPL kit for around £1500 all in

Gauge 1 model company are bringing out a live steam one for under £3000 later this year

Thats your choice

Now if you want a nice G1 Duchess in brass :D

John Finescalebrass (UK)


Must admit i do like duchess aswell but im leaning towards 4468 but i have since i was about 2.
It looks like that be where my overtime going then.
dose Malcom have a website
Image
A railroad engineer must be sure not to loose his train of thought or he might go down the wrong track.

55H
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 2:12 am

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby 55H » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:01 pm

He sure does

http://www.rpmmodels.co.uk/RPM_Models/Gauge_1.html

not the best but shows you what he is about, there is a gauge 1 show at Bakwell in July, which is open to all, he will be there as will the guys who make the kit, oh and me :D

John

forest446
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 9:58 am
Location: yorkshire

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby forest446 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:25 pm

not far at all an will be paying it a visit im sure
Image
A railroad engineer must be sure not to loose his train of thought or he might go down the wrong track.

90733
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:41 pm

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby 90733 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:45 pm

Essex2Visuvesi wrote:Gauge 1 is certainly something that can't be done on a budget

I think it could be if though out cleverley ;)
Accucraft have said they will be making 4472 and a B4? Tank engine.

User avatar
Essex2Visuvesi
Posts: 2357
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Finland, Finland, Finland!

Re: Gauge 1 A4

Postby Essex2Visuvesi » Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:24 am

90733 wrote:
Essex2Visuvesi wrote:Gauge 1 is certainly something that can't be done on a budget

I think it could be if though out cleverley ;)
Accucraft have said they will be making 4472 and a B4? Tank engine.


True but there is still the track to consider
Si quam primum vos operor non successio , impono

The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Proud member of the OAM
(Order of the Armchair Modeller


Return to “Large Gauge Model Railway - including 1, O, and S”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest