my train takes ages to stop

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
Mark19

my train takes ages to stop

Post by Mark19 »

have a bought brand new Bachmann class 37 (3 months old ) with factory fitted sound decoder ESU 5 which I think is great but I cant get it to slow down any quicker it takes two circuits of my 8 x 4 layout to stop and I would like to get the speed up a tiny bit.

as I am new to dcc I have read the manuals for both train and decoder downloaded from ESU I have tried changing CV 4 but it has no effect on anything but to be honest anything I change has any affect so what am I doing wrong I have read lots of post and watched videos where you just change the value via the programming track using a sprogg and JMRI Decoder Pro or such like and things change but not for me it seems.

I have uploaded some attachments of my CV setting now I have moved CV 4 to the extremes but nothing happens sos set it back to the original of 21.

So what am I doing wrong please
Screenshot 2021-10-18 at 12.12.40.png
Screenshot 2021-10-18 at 12.13.59.png
Screenshot 2021-10-18 at 12.14.22.png
Screenshot 2021-10-18 at 12.15.15.png
Screenshot 2021-10-18 at 12.16.47.png
Ironduke

Re: my train takes ages to stop

Post by Ironduke »

Have you tried setting the decoder to defaults?
Regards
Rob
Bigmet

Post by Bigmet »

It's a sound decoder. These often have the CV3 and CV4 values factory set to enable the sounds to be played properly, and are possibly 'locked' in some way to prevent accidental change? Need to read your decoder manual to see if that's the case, and how to 'unlock' if that's what you want to do.

ESU decoders at one time used function 4 (F4) to disable CV3 and CV4. Get your model running then select F4 and then reduce speed to step 0 see if it enables you to make it stop more rapidly. The sound effects will probably be either cockeyed or non-existent if this works...
Mark19

Post by Mark19 »

thanks for your help
SRman

Post by SRman »